• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • 🏆 Hive's 6th HD Modeling Contest: Mechanical is now open! Design and model a mechanical creature, mechanized animal, a futuristic robotic being, or anything else your imagination can tinker with! 📅 Submissions close on June 30, 2024. Don't miss this opportunity to let your creativity shine! Enter now and show us your mechanical masterpiece! 🔗 Click here to enter!

Please give terrain tips

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 8
I'm just beginning to start the terrain for my campaign, but I have no idea how to go about it. I don't know how I should use textures, doodads, height, and cliffs to make nice looking terrain.

The campaign, or most of it, takes place in the Sunken Ruins

Please give me tips or suggestions on how to create good terrain. I will give credit in campaign for any help I can get. Thanks.

Level 8
Aight, kool.

How do you want to do this? I've already got most of the unit data finished and a crappy terrain that I use for testing it on (An island with a big mountain in the middle and some trees).

I have not finished making up the story, so i'm not certain about what the levels will be. I'll get back to it as soon as I can.

Also, how do you take screenshots and put them on your posts? That would help.

Level 16
Here's a couple tips:
-Don't leave level terrain the whole time, nor concentrate a bunch of well done crates and rough terrain in one area
-Put trees in like a forest. But don't clump them in a strange way. Make it so a couple trees fit about one big square in the editor in a clearing so it cuts off some vision and makes it look nice.
-Put things like rushes and rocks here and there, or even better, on cliffsides to make the effect that it's like a pristine area