• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!

Passing a boolean between triggers

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 8
Hello The People.

I'm pretty new to Jass; have only been using it for a couple of weeks and not even scratched on using structs and libraries and such....I believe these are functions of vJass, right? Which is what I'm using.

I have a couple of functions I made that are particularly usefull and will be needed for more than 1 trigger but how can I pass their return to other triggers without creating a global? I'm guessing this is the purpose of structs/libraries.

So basicly I want to be able to call this function to get the return inside another function, outside of their trigger.

Could someone explain how I would do this?

Dr Super Good

Spell Reviewer
Level 64
Well, use globals. As you are passing, globals work perfectly as WC3 is not threaded and so their values will do exactly what you want for instant use as they only have MUI problems if time is involved.

Also a better explination on the problem would be nice, its hard to visualise what you are after.

Level 8
Well, as you know I'm creating a physics system for this 2D map.

Basicly I've got I nice function that checks fly height of Unit X to the height of each unit in a group and if it is a certain value then returs true. This is good and works with the physics system but I will also need to use it for the attack system.

I know I cannot call a function that isn't written inside the trigger where I'm calling it. I could simply copy the function into the attack system trigger but then it's doubling the code. It would be more efficient if I can call it from anywhere and only have it written once. Why is it that even though the compiler shoves all the code into 1 script it won't allow me to call a function that's declared in another trigger?