• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Need some help with leaks...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Hey everyone!

So this is my first time posting and I'll start off by saying I'm far from seasoned in the art of map creation. I used to play as a kid and always spent more time on the editor than I did actually playing. Just learning kill footswitches and open gates was mindblowing and I loved that the cause-effect relationship existed because I made it so. Over the years I've had a stint of playing WC3 every so often and always got just a bit better at it (thought never doing anything I would call even remotely complicated). That brings us to the map I'm working on now. I saw the WC movie and it made me think of the old editor for some reason. So I came up with an idea for a fun little mini-game type map about two weeks ago. I made a few fairly simple heroes, then came up with a slightly more complicated spell and got to work. I did it. I was pretty proud of myself and it inspired me to keep going. I designed a decent maze-esque map, slowly filling in areas differently as ideas came to me. I've tested it many times alone, and twice with a group. The group tests are a blast. Even with the glitches that pop up, we have tons of fun and I come out with a list of things I couldn't have seen alone to fix. I add new characters, improve the hero selection system, create unique and appealing spells, and have crafted a game mode that's totally my own. I'm really proud of myself and aside from a few speedbumps that forced me onto the Google machine, I've figured it out alone!