• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

My First Terrain

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 5
I'm an aspiring newbie terrainer, and this is my very first terrain, I'd like some inputs on my work so I can improve and be better at this.
tEuD8Po.jpg

Ha873dL.jpg

4NjAWpF.jpg

Last edited:
Level 36
Hate saying it, but this is as bad as bad terrains come.
- What terrain art is concerned.

For starters, your camera is too close to the ground, no matter how highly high
super resolution mega tiles you're using, ground tiles ALWAYS look horrible when
viewed up close, and yours is standard Wc3 tiles >.>

Elevation and doodad placement is doable for what you have, with a few abnormalities.
When ONLY using standard Wc3 doodads, which I'd advice against, you might reconsider
putting tree-doodads that close to the camera. The one on the right and the one on the left
has their "leafs" so close to the camera they really look like... Something really horrible.
I also see you're not using any form for fog in this terrain, using fog usually raises the
quality of your terrain significantly, when done correctly. Go to
"Scenario > Map Options > Tick the "Use Terrain Fog" box" and then start fooling around
with various colors and depths. You can also fool around with different sky models by going
"Scenario > Map Preferences > Sky Display."
- My only advice on that front is think nature, and reality. The fog and the sky should never
contrast one another,
and the fog should never look too unnatural,
you wouldn't find sun-flower yellow fog in nature,
would you? >.>

Now comes that part where I'll tell you that you shouldn't use units in your terrains before