• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Model of under construction buildings

Status
Not open for further replies.

VAC

VAC

Level 3
Hi guys. I'm new to World Editor, and here I am with another (probably dumb) question so please bear with me here. I would like to know if it was possible to change the model of building under construction. For example, would it be possible for a barrack to grow out of a tree (with a worker still there to construct it of course)? My final goal is to make some custom buildings to have the construction animation of the Naga's buildings. When I add custom building into the Mur'gul slave's techtree, the model of under construction building is the same as the finished one; one can't tell without checking its hp. Thanks for reading, any inputs would be great.

Jampion

Code Reviewer
Level 15
Building models have their own birth animation. There are two models called UBirth and NEBirth, which are used when undead/nightelf buildings are built. You can for example replace their textures, maybe even models (did not try it). But I think these building animations are connected to the model file, so you would have to edit the models, if you wanted to add those effects to other models.
the model of under construction building is the same as the finished one
This means that the model has no birth animation.

VAC

VAC

Level 3
Okay, I understand the problem, but not quite sure about the solution. Would I need a model editor program and open the MPQ archives? And I'm looking for Replacement/ <something>NEBirth.<something>?

Jampion

Code Reviewer
Level 15