• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[General] Message Log mess

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 4
Joined
Dec 24, 2010
Messages
67
I'm using a SimError system (creates custom Sim Error in-game).
JASS:
function SimError takes player whichPlayer, string msg returns nothing
    set msg = "\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n\n|cffffcc00" + msg + "|r"
 
    if GetLocalPlayer() == whichPlayer then
        call ClearTextMessages()
        call DisplayTimedTextToPlayer(whichPlayer, 0.52, 0.96, 2.00, msg)
    endif
endfunction
The problem is it messes up with the MessageLog. It creates a lot of blank spaces. It isn't supposed to show up there in the first place (you know how the default sim error works).

So, how can I display a message in-game without automatically adding it to the MessageLog?
DotA did this, I don't know how tho :\
 
Level 19
Joined
Dec 12, 2010
Messages
2,069
So, how can I display a message in-game without automatically adding it to the MessageLog?
DotA did this, I don't know how tho :\
dota always had shitty error, since blizz didnt provide us with anything better. all of them goes into log in single player
JASS:
function Error takes player loc_player01,string loc_string01 returns nothing
    local sound loc_sound01=CreateSoundFromLabel("InterfaceError",false,false,false,10,10)
    if(GetLocalPlayer()==loc_player01)then
        if(loc_string01!="")and(loc_string01!=null)then
            call ClearTextMessages()
            call DisplayTimedTextToPlayer(loc_player01,0.50,-1.00,2.00,"|cffffcc00"+loc_string01+"|r")
        endif
        call StartSound(loc_sound01)
    endif
    call KillSoundWhenDone(loc_sound01)
endfunction
 
Level 4
Joined
Dec 24, 2010
Messages
67
I see. Anyone knows a better solution?
If not, is there a way to just hide the message log? I think I saw other maps do this.
 
Level 4
Joined
Dec 24, 2010
Messages
67
So there really is no other way around.
Thanks for clarifying. I could finally give up on this.
 
Level 19
Joined
Dec 12, 2010
Messages
2,069
you can wait for memory hack tho, we have func for error messaging and even upkeep custom text
rkQAuas.jpg
 
Level 4
Joined
Dec 24, 2010
Messages
67
I'm already into it. I'm just wondering how long we will have to wait. Cuz if it'll take a year or sumthing, I might have stopped wc3 modding already at that time.
Anyway, good luck. I still believe in you guys more than blizzard.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top