• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • 🏆 Hive's 6th HD Modeling Contest: Mechanical is now open! Design and model a mechanical creature, mechanized animal, a futuristic robotic being, or anything else your imagination can tinker with! 📅 Submissions close on June 30, 2024. Don't miss this opportunity to let your creativity shine! Enter now and show us your mechanical masterpiece! 🔗 Click here to enter!

Memory leak help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 3
I'm not good with solving memory leaks. Here's my prob.
memoryleakprobsk7.jpg

I have these two triggers to spawn a group of units every 2 seconds, and order them to attack a random unit in a unit group. Of course, the game slows down considerably after a while (particularly, the game freezes for a split second every time more new units are spawned). How should I fix this?

Also on a side note: All the units spawned will have been destroyed after the above trigger is finished.

EDIT: Nevermind. It turns out I just had some invisible corpses. Problem fixed now

Last edited:
Level 5
eh, didnt see your edit until after i finished doing your 2nd trigger: but anyway

your temp point never actually gets used for where they spawn, so that leaks a location until you change it how you probably thought about it. also one of your unit groups leaks. simply put a custom script above it and problem solved. as you found out when it does unit groups it will gather every living/corpse/invisible/enemy so if there are alot of units in the region might wanna add them to a group when they get spawned, and remove them when they die, may lead to less lag later on.

heres my trigger:

• wave 1 spawn
    • Events
    • Conditions
    • Actions
      • Set Temp_Point = (Center of Super Lame Region <gen>)