• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[vJASS] Making a Fade Unit Function

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 6
Hello Hive, I need major help in making a vJass function.
I am very new to vJass. This does not work at all... can anyone enlighten me?
Okay I know TriggerSleepAction and BJ are bad, but if I were to make it periodic would I use a timer or something?
Let's say I wanted the fade to be extra smooth instead of +20% transparency at a time, how would I do it without 100 TriggerSleepActions (and without Timer systems)?

JASS:
scope
function Fade takes unit returns nothing
    call SetUnitVertexColorBJ( unit, 100, 100, 100, 20.00 )
    call TriggerSleepAction (0.25)
    call SetUnitVertexColorBJ( unit, 100, 100, 100, 40.00 )
    call SetUnitVertexColorBJ( unit, 100, 100, 100, 60.00 )
    call SetUnitVertexColorBJ( unit, 100, 100, 100, 80.00 )
    call RemoveUnit(unit)
    return false
endfunction
endscope

What I want is to write this line to make a certain unit fade away, and ultimately be removed:

JASS:
call Fade(unit)

The Fade thing is sort of like a system, so would I put it in a library?
What are library and how/when to use specifically?

Level 29
The problem is ur returning nothing with the function but inside the function ur trying to return a Boolean. U should get rid of all the bjs

For scopes and libraries the syntax is very close. Systems should be in libraries. Here is the syntax

scope test initializer function name

The initializer will run on map init. This is used to create and register triggers.

Libraries are declared like this

library test initializer function name

Libraries can require other libraries tho

They do so like this