• Listen to a special audio message from Bill Roper to the Hive Workshop community (Bill is a former Vice President of Blizzard Entertainment, Producer, Designer, Musician, Voice Actor) 🔗Click here to hear his message!
  • Read Evilhog's interview with Gregory Alper, the original composer of the music for WarCraft: Orcs & Humans 🔗Click here to read the full interview.

Item Levels

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 20
Joined
Jul 14, 2011
Messages
3,213
Hi!

I have an item wich has "Level 5" and Unclasified lvl "4" but Units lvl 1 can pick and use it... All level requirements are triggered?
 

Dr Super Good

Spell Reviewer
Level 64
Joined
Jan 18, 2005
Messages
27,258
Why should a level 1 unit not be able to use a level 5 item? Item level is a description of how powerful an item is. Generally a level 5 item should be better than a level 1 or 2 item for example.

If you want items to have a level requirement to hold, you will need to create a trigger system for that. You might even link it to the item level.
 
Level 20
Joined
Jul 14, 2011
Messages
3,213
Sucks a lot xD

How to prevent the hero from buying an items wich has a higher level than the hero? Because with the trigger you gave me the hero would just drop it, but would still pay it :p
 
Level 20
Joined
Jul 14, 2011
Messages
3,213
Like this...?
  • Item Level Requirement
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Acquires an item
    • Conditions
      • (Item level of (Item being manipulated)) Greater than (Level of (Triggering unit))
    • Actions
      • Hero - Drop (Item being manipulated) from (Triggering unit)
      • Game - Display to (All players matching (((Owner of (Triggering unit)) slot status) Equal to Is playing)) the text: - Your level is not...
For some reason, the Game displays the message twice
- Your level is not enough to hold this item.
- Your level is not enough to hold this item.
 
Level 7
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
213
Like this...?
  • Item Level Requirement
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Acquires an item
    • Conditions
      • (Item level of (Item being manipulated)) Greater than (Level of (Triggering unit))
    • Actions
      • Hero - Drop (Item being manipulated) from (Triggering unit)

YES
---------------

Buying is hard to trigger, becouse you have to set every item cost value on variables :p
It goes something like this:
  • buying items
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Sells an item (from shop)
    • Conditions
      • (Item level of (Sold Item)) Greater than (Hero level of (Buying unit))
    • Actions
      • Player - Add 0 to (Owner of (Buying unit)) Current gold
 
Level 20
Joined
Jul 14, 2011
Messages
3,213
Really far from the real problem xD

I'm using The_Witcher equipment system, and it creates a Dummy, and I wasn't excluding the Dummy in the conditions.

EDIT: Wrong, it still displays double message...
 
Last edited:
Level 7
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
213
Really far from the real problem xD

I'm using The_Witcher equipment system, and it creates a Dummy, and I wasn't excluding the Dummy in the conditions.

EDIT: Wrong, it still displays double message...

HEY! You picking an item witch has bigger lvl than your hero, trigger orders to drop it from u and displays text, u drop item and trigger again turns on but this time u have no item so trigger only displays the text...
 
Level 20
Joined
Jul 14, 2011
Messages
3,213
But why "Dropping an item" is "Acquiring an item"?
How can I solve this? I need to display the item only when it's picked, not when it's dropped...
 
Level 20
Joined
Jul 14, 2011
Messages
3,213
Ok... This works =)

  • Unit doesnt meet item requeriments
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Acquires an item
    • Conditions
      • (Unit-type of (Triggering unit)) Not equal to Dummy Inventory
      • (Item level of (Item being manipulated)) Greater than (Level of (Triggering unit))
      • Or - Any (Conditions) are true
        • Conditions
          • (Item-type of (Item being manipulated)) Not equal to Health potion (1)
          • (Item-type of (Item being manipulated)) Not equal to Health potion (2)
          • (Item-type of (Item being manipulated)) Not equal to Health potion (3)
          • (Item-type of (Item being manipulated)) Not equal to Health potion (4)
          • (Item-type of (Item being manipulated)) Not equal to Health potion (5)
          • (Item-type of (Item being manipulated)) Not equal to Mana potion (1)
          • (Item-type of (Item being manipulated)) Not equal to Mana potion (2)
          • (Item-type of (Item being manipulated)) Not equal to Mana potion (3)
          • (Item-type of (Item being manipulated)) Not equal to Mana potion (4)
          • (Item-type of (Item being manipulated)) Not equal to Mana potion (5)
    • Actions
      • Set Temp_Point = (Position of (Triggering unit))
      • Item - Create (Item-type of (Item being manipulated)) at Temp_Point
      • Item - Remove (Item being manipulated)
      • Game - Display to (All players matching (((Owner of (Triggering unit)) slot status) Equal to Is playing)) the text: - The unit doesn't ...
      • Custom script: call RemoveLocation(udg_Temp_Point)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top