• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

How to make the 185 villager model work?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 29
Joined
Mar 10, 2009
Messages
5,016
to view the animations just select the unit then in the WE MAIN WINDOW, you can see like...
"Animation: ......", select animation you want by pressing the < and > arrows, the animations examples are, Attack Morph - 23, Attack Throw - 4, Stand Victory - 13 etc...

then in the trigger use this...
  • Animation - Play UNIT Attack Morph - 23 animation
 
Level 5
Joined
Aug 27, 2008
Messages
126
So I need to use triggers to use an attacking animation for when the unit attacks? Seems unstable.. Because now randomly when the unit attacks a bag or a cross appears in his hand.. wtf.

Edit: So I made a trigger. Action - Animation - Play (Attacking unit)'s (Attack - + (String((Random integer number between 1 and 12)))) animation, doesnt work. :/
 
Last edited:
Level 29
Joined
Mar 10, 2009
Messages
5,016
see the animation guide for the model, its not just "Attack" but "Attack Morph" or "Attack Throw"...and there is NO 1-12 animations...

sample:
Animation - Play (Attacking unit)'s (Attack Morph + (- + (String((Random integer number between 27 and 30))))) animation

if you dont want to trigger it you can add a custom ability to the unit and change the >>> Art - Animation Names but trigger is better...
 
Anyone ever heard of simple triggers? :D i have.I am not using like wtwfwtwfwtf commands and complicated and hard triggers and jass blah blah...I am doing it all the way i know and i always solve my peoblem. there u go:
Event-A unit is attacked
Condition -Unit type of (villager) equal to true
Action -Reset (attacking unit) animation
-Play (attacking unit) xxxxx animation
idk for u but it works for me
and sorry for the 'U's.i use it to type faster
 
Level 19
Joined
Feb 4, 2009
Messages
1,313
Anyone ever heard of simple triggers? :D i have.I am not using like wtwfwtwfwtf commands and complicated and hard triggers and jass blah blah...I am doing it all the way i know and i always solve my peoblem. there u go:
Event-A unit is attacked
Condition -Unit type of (villager) equal to true
Action -Reset (attacking unit) animation
-Play (attacking unit) xxxxx animation
idk for u but it works for me
and sorry for the 'U's.i use it to type faster

go and play the second attack animation of a wendigo with that :p
 
Level 5
Joined
Aug 27, 2008
Messages
126
if you still got problems you can use the SetUnitAnimationByIndex(unit, index) function which will play a single animation (e.g. you can play stand - 2 with it without playing stand - 1 which does not work with GUI afair)

Can you explain better? How can I make his use one of his attacks when attacking with this?
 
Level 5
Joined
Aug 27, 2008
Messages
126
to view the animations just select the unit then in the WE MAIN WINDOW, you can see like...
"Animation: ......", select animation you want by pressing the < and > arrows, the animations examples are, Attack Morph - 23, Attack Throw - 4, Stand Victory - 13 etc...

then in the trigger use this...
  • Animation - Play UNIT Attack Morph - 23 animation

This really doesnt work.
 
Level 5
Joined
Aug 27, 2008
Messages
126
Cant anyone show me the exact trigger? I am in total confussion since days... I want to make the villager attack with his attack animations and learn how to use a chosen animation whenever I want.
Agh bleh I am switching back to the original villager model.
 

Bannar

Code Reviewer
Level 26
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
3,140
Here is action which orders given unit to play animation whatever you want it to play:
  • Custom script: call SetUnitAnimationByIndex(udg_yourunit, animation_number)
But you have to know the numbers for each animation (attack/move ect..)
For attack, in this case you should use:

  • Set Viliager_unitVariable = YourViliager185
  • Custom script: call SetUnitAnimationByIndex(udg_Viliager_unitVairable, 27)
Numbers are usually differend for each unit (model).
If your unit isnt on map refer to unit type variable and do similar actions.
Hope i didnt make mistakes anywhere.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top