• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

How to export

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 9
Hey guys,sup all i recently started learning how to do modeling,and im using Gmax,on other using Scripts like Neodex 2.5,Dex,impexpmdx and all of them are import/export or import or export,but the thing is that my modeling level is increasing but i always run on a Problem,How to succsesfully export that model from Gmax,and what to do after that to make it working in WE and magos model viewer?
Please help giving rep :goblin_cry::vw_sad:

Level 15
Well ... Run any script that exports MDL files from gmax
If I remember DEX runs a very long script copy it all just the last line don't copy it .
Then go to notepad++ paste the full script text into it and save it ( Arthas.mdl ) for example
Then use one of MDL to MDX converters like Magos or MDLX if I remember
Sorry try what I said because I really lost my modelling history I rarely join here :S

If you have any problem in texture , for example we make a box in gmax , we run Dex script , we copy all text expect of last line , we paste into notepad , we save as box.mdl , I import it to Magos Warcraft Model Editor [STEP X], we save as box.mdx , but when we import to Warcraft the box looks gray or red according to team color ) , just get back to STEP X above , go to Tools => Texture Manager , double click the box texture , ( it should be box.blp or .tga according to what you did ) ... then you will see a legend table saying like this by gray color :
Nothing : 0
Team Color : 1
Team Glow : 2

I don't really remember , you will find probably the number of Team color , change it to nothing , save the model as .mdx again , I wish I helped :'(