1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The reforging of the races is complete. Come see the 14th Techtree Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. It's time to choose your horse in the race - the 32nd Modeling Contest Poll is up!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

How to change name of a player

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Tiucaner, Jul 21, 2007.

  1. Tiucaner

    Tiucaner

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I've seen in several online games a feature that enables people to change their name. Like someone types "-setname Box", and guy's name turns to Box. Could someone explain me how you do that?
     
  2. RedBlade

    RedBlade

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    397
    Resources:
    3
    Models:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    Simple

    • Change Name
    • Events
      • - Player chat message -setname Box
    • Conditions
    • Actions
      • Player - Set Triggering Players name to Entered Chat text


    or something
     
  3. operator

    operator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,670
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Incorrect. The name would now be ''-setname Box''
     
  4. Tiucaner

    Tiucaner

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    You didn't answer my question, that only happens if a guy enters "Box" has a name, but I wanted a Trigger that made that to any name.
     
  5. Lingonberryjam

    Lingonberryjam

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    230
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    guess this would work:

    • setname
      • Events
        • Player - Player 1 (Red) types a chat message containing -setname as A substring
      • Conditions
      • Actions
        • Player - Set name of (Triggering player) to (Substring((Entered chat string), 9, (Length of (Entered chat string))))


    What you have to do is of course to have an event for each player you think should be able to change their name. What the action does when using substring is that it takes a string (entered chat string) and then takes out a part of it. The part you want is the one after "-setname " (note the space) and to the last letter. This should be from letter nr. 9 to the last letter, Lenght of Entered chat string.

    Hope this helped.
     
  6. Tiucaner

    Tiucaner

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Thx it worked :). I only knew the "Events" part. The "Actions" part was driving me crazy! Thx again.
     
  7. Jumbo

    Jumbo

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,296
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    how do you do this with heroes, so that a hero changes his "Proper Names"?
     
  8. Razorbrain

    Razorbrain

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,165
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    impossible, sorry, but that is what i know

    in WEU you can change a Unit Name, or that is what ive heard, but if it exist it doesnt work on Proper Names

    ive heard something about data sets, but ive never seen anything like it