1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The poll for Hive's 12th Concept Art Contest is up! Go cast your vote for your favourite genie!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Travel to distant realms and encounter scenes unknown to the common folk. The Greatest of Adventures is upon us with the 8th Cinematic Contest. Join in on a fun ride.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The 18th Icon Contest is ON! Choose any ingame unit and give him/her Hero abilities. Good luck to all.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Contestants are to create a scene set in the Stone Age. Come and see what you can come up with. We wish you the best of luck!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Colour outside the lines! Techtree Contest #13 is a go. The contest is optionally paired.
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Greetings cerebrates, our Swarm needs new spawners that will have numerous children. Join the HIVE's 31st Modeling Contest - Spawners and Spawned! The contest is optionally paired.
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

How to add textures to models in Patch 1.31

Discussion in 'Patch & Reforged Discussion' started by Voljin, Jul 24, 2019.

  1. Voljin

    Voljin

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Messages:
    36
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hello all,

    I have been having problems with Patch 1.31 for awhile now. Ultimately, its been more or less agreeing with my system, but I cannot figure out how to add textures to imported models anymore. I add the models, then the .blp files corresponding with it like I've always done, but nothing I type into the path seems to do anything to the model. I just keep getting the green box. I even tried looking at an old map of mine with imported .blp files attached to the models and it was still working like it was suppose to... but I couldn't copy the process on the new map I'm making. Is this a patch bug or am I just missing something?
     
  2. magnifique

    magnifique

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Same, could use some information regarding this. Such information would be very useful especially for the recently released WOW classic, due to it's obviously aged graphics. I do like the facts that wow classic gold is worth more in it and the old school mechanics mean that your achievements in game actually matter, it's way less automated than modern WoW, though yeah graphics are an eyesore.
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2019
  3. Razorclaw_X

    Razorclaw_X

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2018
    Messages:
    97
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Being unable to decipher what you're saying aside...

    What is it about "like I always do" that suddenly stopped working? Nothing about importing models/textures changed.
     
  4. Voljin

    Voljin

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Messages:
    36
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I guess what I'm saying is, I don't see a custom path file extension anymore and thus, I don't know how to attach a model's skin to the mdx file. I've tried importing models that I used to have to do this on by just importing them into new patch, but now they don't show up in game. So, its like I cannot use models with separate skins that need to be imported separately anymore.
     
  5. maddeem

    maddeem

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,260
    Resources:
    5
    Maps:
    2
    Spells:
    3
    Resources:
    5
    Open the model in a model editor and look at the textures it references. Import your textures and rename them to the correct path.
     
  6. Voljin

    Voljin

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Messages:
    36
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I tried that, same way I used to pre-patch. I'm wondering if I just got hit by a patch bug of some kind.
     
  7. maddeem

    maddeem

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,260
    Resources:
    5
    Maps:
    2
    Spells:
    3
    Resources:
    5
    Try loading it into a new map?