• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

How do you change the tiles when placing a unit (Building) ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
As title, I'm still new to WE, and I've gone through bunch of terraining tuts, but none of them explain how to change the tiles when placing a building. I have already experiment with the Object Editor, but I still can't change the tiles. Help!

Level 19
By changing the tiles, do you mean change them to just a patch of ground or to a different set of tiles?

Use this trigger:
  • Trigger
  • Events
    • Unit - A unit finishes construction
  • Conditions
  • Actions
    • Custom script: local unit u = GetTriggerUnit()
    • Custom script: local real x = GetUnitX (u)
    • Custom script: local real y = GetUnitY (u)
    • Custom script: call SetTerrainType (x, y, 'Wsng', 1, 3, 1)
    • Custom script: set u = null
For all terrain types, visit this thread:
http://www.thehelper.net/forums/showthread.php?t=125223
(Replace 'Wsng' with the terrain type you want).
1 - 3 - 1 (from the script) are/mean:
1) Tile variation
2) How big the tile will be (mine has an area of "3")
3) 1 is for square, 2 is for circle.

Level 19
But I think he means those tiles which buildings like the 'Town Hall' come with surrounded around them everytime you try to build...

Level 1
Thanks! Either way is fine. I'd just want to replace those ugly tiles that ruin my terrain :(

EDIT: Sorry, a new question. How do u able to rotate building ? I tried holding ctrl + and left click, it doesn't rotate. But, when I try placing a unit (Peasant), I'm able to rotate it.

Last edited:
Level 5