1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

How can i make this

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Iqsion, May 14, 2008.

  1. Iqsion

    Iqsion

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Ok,this is a last question for today :)

    Thing is like this.
    I need to make a guard that will attack those how attack units of player blue,but that attack must happen in specific range of a guard. I mean he must see the attack to respond.

    I tried few things but they dont work.. Can u give me your ideas??
     
  2. Vegavak

    Vegavak

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,010
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Here's how you do it:

    You use the SEARCH button and find the page where I already helped someone with this exact problem within the last week.
     
  3. UreDe4D

    UreDe4D

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,166
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    • Events
      • Unit - a Unit is attacked
    • Conditions
      • Triggering Unit is within 600 of <guard>
      • owner of Triggering Unit equal to player 2
    • Actions
      • Unit - issue order <guard> to attack <attacking unit>


    i did it from memory so some things might sound a little different in WE, but you should be able to get it
     
  4. Iqsion

    Iqsion

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hm..I think i tried that but im not sure. Il try it to see if it works
     
  5. UreDe4D

    UreDe4D

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,166
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    if it does not work be sure you selected your guard correctly, if you add the unit later in the game store it in a variable and use the variable in this trigger
     
  6. Iqsion

    Iqsion

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hm..Well , im not very sure how does variables work.. I mean i never tried to use them , so im not very sure how does it work.. Il be very grateful if you give me some example how does varibles work :)
     
  7. emperor_d3st

    emperor_d3st

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,423
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
  8. Deathclaw24

    Deathclaw24

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Resources:
    2
    Icons:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Variables are really really easy once you understand them, I never touched em for a while when I first started editor and now they make perfect sense. It's basically saving something so you can use it in other triggers easier. Like setting a unit as a variable and then in another trigger killing it.