• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • 🏆 Hive's 6th HD Modeling Contest: Mechanical is now open! Design and model a mechanical creature, mechanized animal, a futuristic robotic being, or anything else your imagination can tinker with! 📅 Submissions close on June 30, 2024. Don't miss this opportunity to let your creativity shine! Enter now and show us your mechanical masterpiece! 🔗 Click here to enter!

[JASS] Help with TriggerRegisterPlayerChatEvent

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 8
Hi all. I am new to JASS. (Started learning yesterday) . And I am a new member of Hiveworkshop.

I have a problem with that event.
JASS:
TriggerRegisterPlayerChatEvent( gg_trg_TRIGGER, Player(0), udg_STRING, true)
I wanted to use a global string variable (udg_STRING) but failed.
I typed anything and it just executed the actions.

Here's my script:

Global variables:
udg_RandomString[1] = .......
udg_RandomString[2] = .......
udg_RandomInteger = Random Integer between 1 and 2

JASS:
function Trig_TRIGGER_Actions takes nothing returns nothing
        ------ALL MY CODE HERE
endfunction

//===========================================================================
function InitTrig_TRIGGER takes nothing returns nothing
    set gg_trg_TRIGGER = CreateTrigger(  )
    set udg_STRING = udg_RandomString[udg_RandomInteger]

call TriggerRegisterPlayerChatEvent( gg_trg_TRIGGER, Player(0), udg_STRING, true )
    call TriggerAddAction( gg_trg_TRIGGER, function Trig_TRIGGER_Actions )
endfunction

Help would be very much appreciated:p

Level 8
Are you getting any compile errors? Or does the map save, but does it just not do what you expect it to do?

In that perspective, what do you expect this trigger to do?

It compiled correctly. It is that I doesn't do what I wanted it to do.