1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Ride into the sunset with the 32nd Modeling Contest. The contest is optionally paired. Best of luck, people!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. This adventure has come to an end. Congratulate our heroes in the 16th Mini Mapping Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. From the gates of hell, the 5th Special Effect Contest Results have emerged.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Race against the odds and Reforge, Don't Refund. The 14th Techtree Contest has begun!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Getting them educated

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Verdun, Apr 3, 2011.

  1. Verdun

    Verdun

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    142
    Resources:
    4
    Models:
    4
    Resources:
    4
    Hi again

    Completely different subject than my last post.

    I was always wondering about something.

    In one of my favorite games, 'Battle Realms', you get higher-level units by sending lower-level units into certain buidlings. For example, if you send the peasant into the Dojo, he will come out a swordsman, if you send the swordsman into the Laboratory, he will become a crazy drug-addict psychopath, and so forth.

    It reminds me a lot of the 'Sacrifice' Ability of the Acolyte in Warcraft III. However so far I have been unable to modify this ability to do what I want.

    that's what I would do for example.jpg

    Do you think this can be solved by edditing abilities, or will I have to use triggers?

    And is it even worth it? Personally I love the idea of seeing your units "grow up" instead of just training anonymus new units from scratch. However some people I have talked to thought this was both boring, time-consuming and useless.
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2011
  2. Tozza

    Tozza

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Just make a trigger that "Replaces the Unit" when it "Sacrifices"?
     
  3. Verdun

    Verdun

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    142
    Resources:
    4
    Models:
    4
    Resources:
    4
    That sounds fairly reasonable. However I'd still miss the part where it is actually "trained" inside the building. Should I make a trigger that orders the buidling to train a certain kind of unit while another type of unit is "sacrificed"?
     
  4. Kino

    Kino

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Resources:
    19
    Models:
    5
    Maps:
    14
    Resources:
    19
    No.

    Just replaced the sacrifced unit like he said.
     
  5. Anchorist

    Anchorist

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Or for example

    Farm:
    - Can produce peasant

    Dojo
    - Can produce Ninjas (but it's not available unless You have "peasant"

    Now the trick is that everytime peasant "enters" building a dummy is created, that dummy is "peasant" needed for ninjas
    when ninja is created dummy "peasant" is destroyed.
     
  6. Mechanical Man

    Mechanical Man

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,383
    Resources:
    39
    Models:
    30
    Icons:
    3
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    4
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    39
    The problem with sacrifice ability is that it's hardcoded.
     
  7. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,930
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Triggers are definatly needed.

    The problem is there comes a point where the user asks this.
    "Why must I train 1 unit and move it to another building to upgrade it to another unit... Why not just train it from the other building upgraded already and the games does all the movement for me?".

    Times it is useful though are when the base units are very limited in number. If you only have atmost 5 survivours then you are willing to spend extra time training them and making sure they are useful to you.

    If you have 100 survivours and they spawn every dozen seconds then the average player is just not willing to micro each one up through training.

    You can combat this by automating training into chains (requesting trained unit automatically gets free survivour and upgrades it to prequisit unit etc until finally upgraded to requested unit). However is there a point to doing this? Usually the buildings are so close together that snipping units in training is near impossible so the result usually is a redundant game mechanic which ultimatly resolves into a fixed training time.
     
  8. defskull

    defskull

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7,979
    Resources:
    17
    Spells:
    17
    Resources:
    17
    Test map is attached.
    I suggest that the Acolyte hides the "Sacrificial" ability in a spellbook
    Making it, more neat, to be sacrificed
     

    Attached Files:

  9. -Kobas-

    -Kobas-

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,894
    Resources:
    28
    Icons:
    1
    Tools:
    2
    Maps:
    10
    Spells:
    4
    Template:
    5
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    28
    Why must we use sacrifice?
    Items are much better to me, you can include gold/lumber cost, cooldown as well as number of charges!

    Problem is slot I know, but you can always create dummy unit with slot near building when specific unit come close :)
     
  10. defskull

    defskull

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7,979
    Resources:
    17
    Spells:
    17
    Resources:
    17
    I need to know this.
    Have you played Battle Realm, before ?
     
  11. Verdun

    Verdun

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    142
    Resources:
    4
    Models:
    4
    Resources:
    4
    thanks for your map, defskull! I didn't expect anyone to actually create a sample system. That's more then helpful. I'll see if I can work with that. I'd advise the others interested in this subject to check it out as well.