Fury Swipes Custom

Level 13
Joined
Sep 11, 2013
Messages
467
Greetings!

I wish to create a custom Fury Swipes passive like in dota 2, but I have no idea how to change and optimize what i found (on this post) for my needs.

I wish my Fury Swipes to stack on the same target even if another hero with the same passive (fury swipe) hit the same target.
Exemple 1:
Hero nr.1 has Fury Swipe lvl 4 - (+40 bonus damage per hit)
Hero nr.2 has Fury Swipe lvl 1 - (+10 bonus damage per hit)

Hero 1 hits 2 times the enemy unit/building - total 80 damage bonus on furry swipes (2stacks)
Hero 2 hits 2 times the same enemy unit/building - total 20 damage bonus (+ another 2stacks)
The enemy unit/building has now (4 stacks) that will expire in 15 seconds and the total damage bonus is 80+20 = 100 bonus damage

If hero nr.3 hit again 1 times the same enemy before the buff expires and has Fury Swipe lvl 3 (+30 bonus damage per hit), the hit will deal +130 bonus damage (5 stacks) and so on.

Exemple 2:
Hero nr.1 has Fury Swipe lvl 1 - (+10 bonus damage per hit) and base damage 15.

When hero nr.1 will attack an enemy, the fist hit will be 15+10= 25 damage (1 stack)

Next attack from hero nr.1 will be 15+20= 35 damage (2stacks) and so on.

- - -
Stacks can go to infinit I suppose or with a limited 10.000 stacks (maybe this will prevent bugs)
- - -


Infernal's claws dig deeper wounds in the enemy, causing consecutive attacks to the same enemy to deal more damage.
If the same target is not attacked after 15 seconds, the bonus damage is lost.

Level 1 - Deals 10 bonus damage per attack.
Level 2 - Deals 20 bonus damage per attack.
Level 3 - Deals 30 bonus damage per attack.
Level 4 - Deals 40 bonus damage per attack.

(I think I will change the damage bonus per level and buff expiration timer on main map)

I tried to copy paste the spell for your map @Uncle , but somehow I failed.
I attached what i did, but this spell is not the same with what i need, but is very similar.


The help will be appreciated!
 

Attachments

  • Fury Swipes + GST New 2.w3m
    32.8 KB · Views: 8
Level 13
Joined
Sep 11, 2013
Messages
467
Isn't ursa's fury swipes just firelord's passive spell "incinerate". Just like sand king's caustic finale. You don't need triggers for this.
Thanks for info, but is not the same. That passive explode the target and deal damage in explosion. Also, that spell do not works on buildings.. I think there are more problems with incinerate..
 

Uncle

Warcraft Moderator
Level 73
Joined
Aug 10, 2018
Messages
7,866
Looks like you forgot to import a Unit Indexer and are using a bunch of variables that haven't been Set. Here's a cleaned up version.
Isn't ursa's fury swipes just firelord's passive spell "incinerate". Just like sand king's caustic finale. You don't need triggers for this.
He likely wants to have full control over it, a triggered version is quite useful.
 

Attachments

  • Fury Swipes Fixed 1.w3m
    35.3 KB · Views: 8
Last edited:
Level 13
Joined
Sep 11, 2013
Messages
467
Looks like you forgot to import a Unit Indexer and are using a bunch of variables that haven't been Set. Here's a cleaned up version.


He likely wants to have full control over it, a triggered version is quite useful.
Oh.. yeah.. I forget Unit Indexer.. and a lot of other things:peasant-confused:

I'm glad you answered me Uncle.

Thank you for your help! Sadly I think I was misunderstood.

I don't know if is possible to make that custom spell, but I will try to explain again what exactly i need with my poor english. (see Example 1 and 2 from above)

Example 3:
We have 2 heroes and 1 enemy in this example
Hero nr.1 - Fury Swipes lvl 1 (+10 damage)
Hero nr.2 - Fury Swipes lvl 2 (+20 damage)

Hero nr1. hit the enemy 3 times - the damage bonus will be 10+10+10 = 30
Imediately after that Hero nr.2 will hit the same enemy 3 times - the damage bonus must be (30 from previous hits) + 20 + 20 + 20 = 90

- - -
Imediately after that Hero nr.2 will upgrade fury swipes to lvl 3 (+30 bonus damage per hit) and will hit the same enemy 3 more times..
- the damage bonus must be (90 from previous hits) + 30 + 30 +30 = 180 and so on.

If the buff expire the bonus damage will reset back to 0.

Also, I wish that spell to work on enemy buildings and units, not only on units if is possible.

Edit: In your map, If i hit 100 hits with 1 hero and i have 1000 bonus damage and after that I hit the same enemy with the seconds hero, the damage start from 0 again, not for 1000 and i don't want that.. The next hero (that has fury swipes passive) that attack must use the previous stacks, not to start from 0.

Also, I don't want this passive to work on allied or friend units/buildings if possible.
 
Last edited:

Uncle

Warcraft Moderator
Level 73
Joined
Aug 10, 2018
Messages
7,866
I see now, that makes things simple. Here's an updated version.

In the Fury Swipes Damage trigger, this is where you can adjust the damage:
  • Set VariableSet FurySwipes_Ability_Damage = (10.00 x (Real(FurySwipes_Ability_Level)))
This is where you can adjust the duration:
  • Custom script: call GST_UnitUnit(udg_FurySwipes_Source, udg_FurySwipes_Target, false, 15.00)
You can control the targeting in the Conditions.
 

Attachments

  • Fury Swipes Stacking 1.w3m
    34.5 KB · Views: 6
Level 13
Joined
Sep 11, 2013
Messages
467
I see now, that makes things simple. Here's an updated version.

In the Fury Swipes Damage trigger, this is where you can adjust the damage:
  • Set VariableSet FurySwipes_Ability_Damage = (10.00 x (Real(FurySwipes_Ability_Level)))
This is where you can adjust the duration:
  • Custom script: call GST_UnitUnit(udg_FurySwipes_Source, udg_FurySwipes_Target, false, 15.00)
You can control the targeting in the Conditions.
Seems to work perfect now. Thank you very much Uncle! :peasant-ok-hand:
 
Level 13
Joined
Sep 11, 2013
Messages
467
I see now, that makes things simple. Here's an updated version.

In the Fury Swipes Damage trigger, this is where you can adjust the damage:
  • Set VariableSet FurySwipes_Ability_Damage = (10.00 x (Real(FurySwipes_Ability_Level)))
This is where you can adjust the duration:
  • Custom script: call GST_UnitUnit(udg_FurySwipes_Source, udg_FurySwipes_Target, false, 15.00)
You can control the targeting in the Conditions.
"One more thing"
"Houston, we have a problem"

After some tests, I noticed a problem with this passive.

Let's say for example:
Hero nr.1 hit the enemy 100 times with fury swipes lvl 1 (+10) damage. total 1000 bonus damage
Buff duration = 15 seconds
After 14 seconds, Hero nr.2 will attack 1 more time before buff expire with fury swipes lvl 1 (+10) damage. total 1010 damage
Buff is refreshed, but the first buff expire in next second. and the second buff has just +10 bonus damage stored...
After that, Hero nr.2 will deal in next attack just + 20 bonus damage instead of + 1020.. and I don't wish that.. I want + 1020 as long as buff remain refreshed and didn't expire.
I want the buff to get refreshed and the previous stack must remain stored in the next buff even if other heroes will refresh the buff with attacks as long as the other heroes has fury shapes passive and as long as the buff has not yet expired.
It is possible? :peasant-blushing:

Edit1: I noticed 2 new actions in unit indexer on your map and I don't have those 2 actions in my main map on unit indexer.
Are they important?
  • Set VariableSet UDexHero = 0
  • Set VariableSet UDexGen = 2000
 
Last edited:

Uncle

Warcraft Moderator
Level 73
Joined
Aug 10, 2018
Messages
7,866
"One more thing"
"Houston, we have a problem"

After some tests, I noticed a problem with this passive.

Let's say for example:
Hero nr.1 hit the enemy 100 times with fury swipes lvl 1 (+10) damage. total 1000 bonus damage
Buff duration = 15 seconds
After 14 seconds, Hero nr.2 will attack 1 more time before buff expire with fury swipes lvl 1 (+10) damage. total 1010 damage
Buff is refreshed, but the first buff expire in next second. and the second buff has just +10 bonus damage stored...
After that, Hero nr.2 will deal in next attack just + 20 bonus damage instead of + 1020.. and I don't wish that.. I want + 1020 as long as buff remain refreshed and didn't expire.
I want the buff to get refreshed and the previous stack must remain stored in the next buff even if other heroes will refresh the buff with attacks as long as the other heroes has fury shapes passive and as long as the buff has not yet expired.
It is possible? :peasant-blushing:
Okay, that makes things even MORE simple, lol. Here you go.

Edit:
I noticed 2 new actions in unit indexer on your map and I don't have those 2 actions in my main map on unit indexer.
Are they important?
That's an edited Unit Indexer, I modified it so it wouldn't recycle Hero custom values.

I don't think it would cause any issues but I've updated the attached map to use Bribe's original, unedited system.
 

Attachments

  • Fury Swipes Stacking 2.w3m
    32.8 KB · Views: 7
Last edited:
Level 13
Joined
Sep 11, 2013
Messages
467
Okay, that makes things even MORE simple, lol. Here you go.

Edit:

That's an edited Unit Indexer, I modified it so it wouldn't recycle Hero custom values.

I don't think it would cause any issues but I've updated the attached map to use Bribe's original, unedited system.
Great and Great! Seems to work excellent.
One more thing :peasant-tongue-out:

The damage from fury swipes is now pure. How can i change it in normal damage?

Also, i did good with conditions? I don't want to allow fury swipes to work on ally/friend and I don't want illusion/summons to use fury swipes.
  • ((Damage source) belongs to an enemy of (Triggering player).) Equal to True
  • ((Damage source) is an illusion) Equal to False
  • ((Damage source) is Summoned) Equal to False
 

Uncle

Warcraft Moderator
Level 73
Joined
Aug 10, 2018
Messages
7,866
Great and Great! Seems to work excellent.
One more thing :peasant-tongue-out:

The damage from fury swipes is now pure. How can i change it in normal damage?

Also, i did good with conditions? I don't want to allow fury swipes to work on ally/friend and I don't want illusion/summons to use fury swipes.
  • ((Damage source) belongs to an enemy of (Triggering player).) Equal to True
  • ((Damage source) is an illusion) Equal to False
  • ((Damage source) is Summoned) Equal to False
You can try to change the Event to this:
  • Unit - A unit About to take damage
I imagine that happens BEFORE armor calculations.

Also, if you already use a Damage Engine then you should be using it instead of these Events/Event Responses.

For your Conditions, you may want to change (Triggering player) to (Owner of (Damage target)). But if it works then you can keep it.
 
Level 13
Joined
Sep 11, 2013
Messages
467
You can try to change the Event to this:
  • Unit - A unit About to take damage
I imagine that happens BEFORE armor calculations.

Also, if you already use a Damage Engine then you should be using it instead of these Events/Event Responses.

For your Conditions, you may want to change (Triggering player) to (Owner of (Damage target)). But if it works then you can keep it.
With
  • Unit - A unit About to take damage
I have same result, so don't work.

I don't have/use Damage Engine.

Sure, I'll put (Owner of (Damage target)
 

Uncle

Warcraft Moderator
Level 73
Joined
Aug 10, 2018
Messages
7,866
With
  • Unit - A unit About to take damage
I have same result, so don't work.

I don't have/use Damage Engine.

Sure, I'll put (Owner of (Damage target)
Are you sure it's actually pure damage? In my test map I've set Armor to have 0% damage reduction and the text message doesn't actually display how much damage you dealt.

Anyway, here's another version that lets you choose the exact damage type you want it to deal.
 

Attachments

  • Fury Swipes Stacking 3.w3m
    33 KB · Views: 7
Level 13
Joined
Sep 11, 2013
Messages
467
Are you sure it's actually pure damage? In my test map I've set Armor to have 0% damage reduction and the text message doesn't actually display how much damage you dealt.

Anyway, here's another version that lets you choose the exact damage type you want it to deal.
Thank you!
It's funny because i have the exact same problem with tower :D
I think is because light armor, but i still don't understand because tower has 1000 armor.
here is a prove

Edit1: I notice something weird Even if tower has light armor or fortified
1728673691209.png

Damage reduction is 0% and i don't know why.
 
Level 13
Joined
Sep 11, 2013
Messages
467
Are you sure it's actually pure damage? In my test map I've set Armor to have 0% damage reduction and the text message doesn't actually display how much damage you dealt.

Anyway, here's another version that lets you choose the exact damage type you want it to deal.
Greetings again Uncle!

Today I tested Fury Swipes on the main map and I found a little bug and I tried to fix it, but I failed.

The problem is that the buff remain on the heroes after they respawns and I don't want that.

Is there a solution to this problem?

I attach the map with an example: Blademaster killed by Tauren with fury swipes (Press ESC to active fury on tauren) and then Blademaster must revived after 10 seconds (after the buff turn off). The buff still remain on him after revive.

I tried this, but do not work..

  • Remove BUFF
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Dies
    • Conditions
      • ((Dying unit) is A Hero) Equal to True
    • Actions
      • Unit - Remove Fury Swipes buff from (Dying unit)
The help will be appreciated!
 

Attachments

  • Fury Swipes Stacking GOOD FINAL 3.w3m
    33.7 KB · Views: 2

Uncle

Warcraft Moderator
Level 73
Joined
Aug 10, 2018
Messages
7,866
This should work. I'm now ending the GST Timer when a unit dies, preventing a new timer from starting if the unit is dead, and resetting any important variables.

Note that all Buffs are automatically removed from a dying unit.

It was an Aura ability that was supplying the Buff, which is different than say the Bloodlust buff since it's "permanent" in a way. But Non-Hero abilities should also be removed upon dying, assuming that they aren't permanent, so something funky was going on here.
 

Attachments

  • Fury Swipes Stacking Fix 1.w3m
    35.7 KB · Views: 3
Level 13
Joined
Sep 11, 2013
Messages
467
This should work. I'm now ending the GST Timer when a unit dies, preventing a new timer from starting if the unit is dead, and resetting any important variables.

Note that all Buffs are automatically removed from a dying unit.

It was an Aura ability that was supplying the Buff, which is different than say the Bloodlust buff since it's "permanent" in a way. But Non-Hero abilities should also be removed upon dying, assuming that they aren't permanent, so something funky was going on here.
Awesome! Seems to work perfect now!

Thank you so much once again ! You give me motivation and inspiration to keep working on my project map and to learn bit by bit. Also, you give me motivation and inspiration in general with your new ways of thinking problems. You do an Outstanding job to keep this unique community alive!:peasant-thumbs-up-cheers:
 
Top