• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

frogger mini game help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
Hello all,

First a quick intro.. I am fairly new to map editor and have not done anything serious with it in the past (just basic testing with the GUI and some limited JASS). However, I am now undertaking an actual playable map that will consist of many mini games, in hopes that I will learn a lot about the editor in doing many different types of games.

Now for the question...

I am attempting to create a Frogger type mini game on my map, where enemy units are generated from the top in different sizes and intervals that move towards the bottom, and visa versa. The problem I am having is having the spawned frogger players, kill a unit that comes in contact with them.

Things I have already tried:
1) trigger action "unit within range"... I have found this to be a fairly buggy function, that only allows <gen> units to be selected. This doesn't really work for me the units in question are not pre-placed

2) I attempted to make a variation of perma-immolate that would be given to all traffic units. The problem with this is the 1 second intervals in which it dealt damage. I dont want players to get away with contact of up to 1 whole second and just walk away.

3) I ran some tests using a custom ability based off of the goblin land mines. however none of them were successful as it also granted invisibility and seemed to also have an immobility aspect to it.