Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Fatal Error Help - Dear God Save Me

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by ihatecapslock, Nov 22, 2007.

  1. ihatecapslock

    ihatecapslock

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    My map! My precious map, it wont start up anymore, as soon as it does it crashes because of a fatal error. I have absolutley no idea how to fix this. Someone ;_; im gonna cry.
     
  2. Gilles

    Gilles

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    8,464
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I am pretty sure you can't. Sorry mate, it's happened to all of us. Always remember to back up on another HD if possible.

    I am pretty sure system restores won't work either. You go back in time and it's broken still. I wouldn't bother trying this.
     
  3. ihatecapslock

    ihatecapslock

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I can edit the map in worldeditor, it just crashes as soon as I start playing. Would that make a difference?
     
  4. donut3.5

    donut3.5

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,389
    Resources:
    31
    Models:
    20
    Icons:
    9
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    31
    It quite does. At least you can edit your map. Typically the two main causes of maps crashing are faulty imports, and bad triggers that cause infinite loops.
    Post your map here, perhaps someone could help.
    --donut3.5--
     
  5. ihatecapslock

    ihatecapslock

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    After randomly disabling triggers I found the culprit ... err i think does anyone see anything wrong with this:
    • Forest Init
      • Events
        • Time - Elapsed game time is 0.00 seconds
      • Conditions
      • Actions
        • Game - Display to (All players) the text: |CFFFF8A08Level 1|R...
        • Player - Set the current research level of Level 1 to 1 for Player 12 (Brown)
        • Player - Set the current research level of Spirit Number to 2 for Player 12 (Brown)
        • Player - Set the current research level of Eater Number to 1 for Player 12 (Brown)
        • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
          • If - Conditions
            • journal_level Equal to 1
          • Then - Actions
            • Set tmp_point = (Random point in Forest <gen>)
            • Unit - Create 1 Dark Artifact for Player 8 (Pink) at tmp_point facing Default building facing degrees
            • Set journal_unit = (Last created unit)
            • Hero - Create Mysterious Journal and give it to journal_unit
            • Trigger - Add to Journal Drop <gen> the event (Unit - A unit comes within 400.00 of journal_unit)
          • Else - Actions
        • Destructible - Kill Long Natural Bridge (Vertical) 0482 <gen>
        • Set tmp_point = (Random point in Forest <gen>)
        • Unit - Create 1 Dark Artifact for Player 8 (Pink) at tmp_point facing Default building facing degrees
        • Set currentartifact = (Last created unit)
        • Hero - Create Dark Heart of the Woods and give it to currentartifact
        • Trigger - Add to Kill Artifact <gen> the event (Unit - A unit comes within 400.00 of currentartifact)
        • Custom script: call RemoveLocation( udg_tmp_point )
        • Custom script: call DestroyTrigger(GetTriggeringTrigger())

    This is the trigger for level 1 of the map .. i have 8 levels and this didnt start acting up until now, I found this strange ... but it loads, now if only I could get my level 1 working again ^^;
     
  6. Gilles

    Gilles

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    8,464
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    You should have mentioned that you could open it in WE, it makes all the difference in the world. Which you just found out! lol
     
  7. Dark Hunter1357

    Dark Hunter1357

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    778
    Resources:
    29
    Models:
    20
    Icons:
    6
    Maps:
    2
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    29
    I'm not sure, but maybe this is the problem:
    Code (Text):
    Time - Elapsed game time is 0.00 seconds
    Set it to this:
    Code (Text):
    Time - Elapsed game time is 0.10 seconds
     
  8. Samo

    Samo

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Generally Putting too many things at the start of the map is the thing that crashes maps. Just try to put it a wait of 1 seconds or 2. This will work. Also try to put as many as less actions as possible.
     
  9. ihatecapslock

    ihatecapslock

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Now it waits 2 seconds and then crashes, so there must be something wrong with the trigger itself.
     
  10. The_wand_mirror

    The_wand_mirror

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    4,273
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    It also just works with 0.01 fine.

    Cant you do the trigger again? just delete it and then remake it? i did that once i believe.. and then it worked fine..
     
  11. YoshiRyu

    YoshiRyu

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    686
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Could you try to disable these two actions and tell if it work?
     
  12. ihatecapslock

    ihatecapslock

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    @Yoshi, still doesn't work
    @The_wand_mirror : Tried that still doesnt work

    • Kill Artifact
      • Events
      • Conditions
        • Or - Any (Conditions) are true
          • Conditions
            • (Owner of (Triggering unit)) Equal to Player 11 (Dark Green)
            • (Owner of (Triggering unit)) Equal to Player 12 (Brown)
      • Actions
        • Set tmp_point = (Position of (Triggering unit))
        • Unit - Move currentartifact instantly to tmp_point
        • Unit - Kill currentartifact
        • Custom script: call RemoveLocation( udg_tmp_point )


    • Journal Drop
      • Events
      • Conditions
        • ((Owner of (Triggering unit)) is an ally of Player 1 (Red)) Equal to True
        • (Owner of (Triggering unit)) Not equal to Player 8 (Pink)
      • Actions
        • Set tmp_point = (Position of (Triggering unit))
        • Unit - Move currentartifact instantly to tmp_point
        • Unit - Kill journal_unit
        • Custom script: call RemoveLocation( udg_tmp_point )


    Those are the other 2 triggers.
     
  13. YoshiRyu

    YoshiRyu

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    686
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    the idea i had is not the right... i've no other idea
    try to disable all action one by one to see wich one could by the bad one
     
  14. DesKaladA

    DesKaladA

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,590
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Template:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    Do you use WEU
    that might be whats killing your map
     
  15. busterkomo

    busterkomo

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,423
    Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Attach your .j File ;)
     
  16. wd40bomber7

    wd40bomber7

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    974
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I'm almost certain (90%) that the problem is the last laction. Destroying a trigger is not the same as turning it off. Destroying a trigger thats not disabled is not smart! Remove that line of code and try it again.
     
  17. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,134
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Nope, destroying an on trigger works fine for me with local triggers in jass.
    I say your problem is your adding items to a unit that has just been created, try inserting a wait after you create the unit before adding the items.

    Also make sure the unit has inventory to carry the items.
     
  18. ihatecapslock

    ihatecapslock

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Nope, that still causes it to crash, now it just waits a bit before it does so.
     
  19. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good

    Spell Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26,134
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    3
    Then that proves it, the crash is caused by the adding of the items, try disabling the adding of the items.

    Anyway, the crash is caused by your set X = lasted created unit, as the GUI create unit action makes a group not a single unit. Thus it is set to null so your adding an item to no unit so it crashes.
     
  20. ihatecapslock

    ihatecapslock

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Sooo how would I fix this (you can't play the game without the artifacts T_T) should I switch to JASS?