1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Everytime I want to run a program, my computer says the .exe doesn't exist!

Discussion in 'Computer Tech' started by I)eadnerzhul, Mar 29, 2010.

  1. I)eadnerzhul

    I)eadnerzhul

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,572
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I just got this virus, right? Well, I removed it completely, but now my computer keeps on telling me certain programs don't exist (like explorer.exe and run32dll.exe etc.). I can still run various programs by "opening" the executable with the same executable, but that's just a temporary solution that might not work forever. Any advice?!
     
  2. Samuraid

    Samuraid

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,508
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Two suggestions:
    Do a repair install using your Windows CD.

    Check your registry in the following locations:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Classes\Exefile\Shell\Open\Command
    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Exefile\Shell\Open\Command

    In both cases, the registry (Default) value should be something like:
    Code (Text):
    "%1" %*
    If it is different than that, the virus might have changed it.
     
  3. I)eadnerzhul

    I)eadnerzhul

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,572
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thanks, but where exactly can I find HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE and HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT?

    Also, my situation changed a little. Instead of saying the .exe's don't exist, my computer keeps asking me which user I want to run the program under.
     
  4. Ironside

    Ironside

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,723
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    3
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    4
    just go to start > run > type in: regedit.exe

    and now follow what Samuraid said.
     
  5. I)eadnerzhul

    I)eadnerzhul

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,572
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thanks, but it looks like everything is ok. I still get my computer asking me if I want to run certain programs whenever I try to do so, but that's just a minor annoyance I guess I have to deal with.