• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!

Edit Skins for Footprints for Models?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 13
i'm rather new to the whole concept of editing the graphics for the game...so bear with me...

if you get lost in what i'm explaining, you can visit the old thread to see what i mean.

http://www.thehelper.net/forums/showthread.php?t=122319

So, now I can edit all footprints and make them look like whatever.

I edit the Splats.slk file for this. for example edit FBR1 and FBL1 makes the demon hunter model run around with edited footprints. The problem I'm running into is, you'll notice in the node manager of the model editor that both Demon Hunter and Peasant have the same footprints in their model.

(But I don't want the peasant to have a trail that looks like the Demon Hunter. My Demon Hunter is special and is permanently invisible so I want him to have a blue trail that is easy to see.)

I don't know much about skinning at all. But I was thinking can't I import the event in the node manager that shows what footprints the model uses? But I don't know how to do that, if you can do that, then that solves my problem. But I don't think you can.

I think what I need to do is make a simple very small skin for the model and import that. And all the skin does is change the footprint to something else. If I do this I can for example take the FTR0 and FTL0 which are used by trolls, which are scarce in my map, and edit and use those for the Demon Hunter model.