• 💀 Happy Halloween! 💀 It's time to vote for the best terrain! Check out the entries to Hive's HD Terrain Contest #2 - Vampire Folklore.❗️Poll closes on November 14, 2023. 🔗Click here to cast your vote!
  • 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • 🏆 HD Level Design Contest #1 is OPEN! Contestants must create a maze with at least one entry point, and at least one exit point. The map should be made in HD mode, and should not be openable in SD. Only custom models from Hive's HD model and texture sections are allowed. The only exceptions are DNC models and omnilights. This is mainly a visual and design oriented contest, not technical. The UI and video walkthrough rules are there to give everyone an equal shot at victory by standardizing how viewers see the terrain. 🔗Click here to enter!

Doodad problem

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 4
Joined
Apr 24, 2009
Messages
115
Hi again,

I was wondering if anyone knows how to make doodads so units can't walk through them. Currently, units just pass right through my doodads. If possible, I would like it so units can't pass through any part of the shown model.

Thanks in advance for any help.


- Lordrake
 

Dr Super Good

Spell Reviewer
Level 63
Joined
Jan 18, 2005
Messages
27,156
WC3 does not use model based collision outside of Z axis. Instead you can just block off the inside of the model on the pathing map so the amount of geometry collision is minimal.

WC3 uses a pathing map to define where units can go, thus you just need to make sure the pathing map does not allow the units inside the model. You can see the pathing map by turning on the pathing layer under view. Also make sure units have an appropiate collision radius which includes most of their model.
 
Level 4
Joined
Apr 24, 2009
Messages
115
WC3 does not use model based collision outside of Z axis. Instead you can just block off the inside of the model on the pathing map so the amount of geometry collision is minimal.

WC3 uses a pathing map to define where units can go, thus you just need to make sure the pathing map does not allow the units inside the model. You can see the pathing map by turning on the pathing layer under view. Also make sure units have an appropiate collision radius which includes most of their model.

There is no collision radius for destructibles that I can see. Is there any easy way to edit the pathing of a doodad to match the model?
 

Dr Super Good

Spell Reviewer
Level 63
Joined
Jan 18, 2005
Messages
27,156
Doodads do not have pathing, they use the global pathing map instead which you can simply paint on where you do not want units to walk. (this is not supported by WE because blizzard was stupid when they made WC3 but is supported by maps as the pathing map is a separate file in their archive)

Destructables pathing is added the same way units are (buildings). They have a pathing map which can be native or imported which they use as an overlay to the global pathing map described above. Although WE does something simlar for doodads, the doodads do not have the pathing map when the game loads as it is instead merged on map save to form the global pathing map.

A custom pathing map is just an image in the right format.
 
Level 4
Joined
Apr 24, 2009
Messages
115
Doodads do not have pathing, they use the global pathing map instead which you can simply paint on where you do not want units to walk. (this is not supported by WE because blizzard was stupid when they made WC3 but is supported by maps as the pathing map is a separate file in their archive)

Destructables pathing is added the same way units are (buildings). They have a pathing map which can be native or imported which they use as an overlay to the global pathing map described above. Although WE does something simlar for doodads, the doodads do not have the pathing map when the game loads as it is instead merged on map save to form the global pathing map.

A custom pathing map is just an image in the right format.

Do you know if there is any sort of add on for WE is I could paint the pathing map within the program?
 
Level 10
Joined
Apr 25, 2009
Messages
296
Do you know if there is any sort of add on for WE is I could paint the pathing map within the program?
From what I know, that does not exist. However, there is this tool which should allow you to paint the pathing. Here's the link:

http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/tools-560/terrain-1-0-a-62919/

If you use it, I suggest you read the comments below, as the physical description is terrible.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top