1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Dialog Box

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by darkalex13, Sep 8, 2009.

  1. darkalex13

    darkalex13

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Today I tried making my first dialog box, I managed and it displays correctly, I also added each created buttons to variables but I can't find an event response for event
    • Events
      • Dialog - A dialog button is clicked for God
      • Conditions
        • (Clicked dialog button) Equal to Button[1]
      • Actions


    I need an action for example, Unit - Add AbilityX to Hero[Number of ClickingPlayer]... But there isn't such an action as clickingplayer or something like that, so how can I add ability to the hero of the player.
     
  2. Yan

    Yan

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    try with triggering player
     
  3. darkalex13

    darkalex13

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Believe me, I've tried but it doesn't work...
     
  4. Super-Sheep

    Super-Sheep

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,823
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Triggering player.

    EDIT
    Cool it was already said. It should work. Your triggers must contain a fail.
     
  5. darkalex13

    darkalex13

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    You're right, this trigger contains a fail but I don't know where it's wrong... I've reread it and retried it a dozen times already, if anyone knows... please...
    • Dialog
      • Events
        • Unit - A unit enters (Playable map area)
      • Conditions
        • ((Entering unit) is A Hero) Equal to True
      • Actions
        • Wait 1.00 seconds
        • Set God = (New Dialog)
        • Dialog - Change the title of God to Choose God
        • Dialog - Create a dialog button for God labelled Rhak'Thar (+20% att...
        • Set Button[1] = (Last created dialog Button)
        • Dialog - Create a dialog button for God labelled Maar (10% lifesteal...
        • Set Button[2] = (Last created dialog Button)
        • Dialog - Create a dialog button for God labelled Boor (+50 armor)
        • Set Button[3] = (Last created dialog Button)
        • Dialog - Create a dialog button for God labelled Coorlek (+50% mana ...
        • Set Button[4] = (Last created dialog Button)
        • Dialog - Create a dialog button for God labelled Shinpleo (+25 damag...
        • Set Button[5] = (Last created dialog Button)
        • Dialog - Create a dialog button for God labelled Ither (+10 Intellig...
        • Set Button[6] = (Last created dialog Button)
        • Dialog - Create a dialog button for God labelled Hootha (+10 Strengh...
        • Set Button[7] = (Last created dialog Button)
        • Dialog - Create a dialog button for God labelled Othen (+10 agility)
        • Set Button[8] = (Last created dialog Button)
        • Dialog - Show God for (Owner of (Entering unit))
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2009
  6. darkalex13

    darkalex13

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
  7. Palermo1

    Palermo1

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    135
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    What's this trigger not doing?
     
  8. Toilet Maker

    Toilet Maker

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    • Untitled Trigger 001
      • Events
        • Dialog - A dialog button is clicked for God
      • Conditions
        • (Clicked dialog button) Equal to Button[1]
      • Actions
        • Unit - Add War Stomp to Hero[(Player number of (Triggering player))]


    I don't see what the problem is? Try taking away the "Wait 1.00 Second" on the other trigger. I hear Waits are buggy. Plus it isn't really needed.

    Also I don't think it can detect if a unit enters "Playable Map Area". Just use "Elapsed Time Equal to 1.00 second" and take away the conditions.
     
  9. darkalex13

    darkalex13

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    No, I mean the dialog is displayed by the second triggers but I don't think the button variables ar good because they don't store the buttons, I tried removing the wait and everything you told me and it still doesn't work.
     
  10. Palermo1

    Palermo1

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    135
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    • Make Buttons
      • Events
        • Time - Elapsed game time is 0.01 seconds
      • Conditions
      • Actions
        • Player Group - Pick every player in (All players) and do (Actions)
          • Loop - Actions
            • Dialog - Show Dialog for (Picked player)
        • Dialog - Create a dialog button for Dialog labelled Your Dialog


    Firstr Trigger would best compliment my second trigger. You need to have it set on elasped. Second trigger will call every unit owned by player, check if it is a hero, if it is, add the ability to hero for owner of player who clicked the button.

    • If button Is Clicked
      • Events
        • Dialog - A dialog button is clicked for Dialog
      • Conditions
      • Actions
        • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
          • If - Conditions
            • (Clicked dialog button) Equal to Button[0]
          • Then - Actions
            • Unit Group - Pick every unit in (Units in (Playable map area) owned by (Triggering player)) and do (Actions)
              • Loop - Actions
                • If (((Picked unit) is A Hero) Equal to True) then do (Unit - Add War Stomp to (Picked unit)) else do (Do nothing)
          • Else - Actions
            • Do nothing


    You have to set up your variables like you had in last one I just didn't feel like it

    I don't understand what your trying to do with your trigger or what it is not doing since you did not answer my earlier post. I have made a few dialogs and all have been based like this. Of course I set the button variables so you know if button[1] is clicked youd o this but on this example i did not.

    The trigger with:
    Unit - Add War Stomp to Hero[(Player number of (Triggering player))]

    Does not work. Might seeem logical, but to me, add warstop to player number does not make sense to me. so his number is Player 1warstomp? not sure if i'm thinking right but i don't think that will work.
     
  11. Palermo1

    Palermo1

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    135
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Your dialog buttons variables are good. Try what i did above using those same dialog button variables. maybe use same button creating trigger but make it time elasped and not entering hero to compliment my trigger.
     
  12. darkalex13

    darkalex13

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Well the idea is to choose a god, each god has a certain bonus, attack speed, defense, life steal etc, the problem with your trigger is that you it's possible that not all heroes are on map... and... it doesn't work anyway... I really can't understand why...
     
  13. Palermo1

    Palermo1

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    135
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Each time the button is clicked, it checks for heros. If there is a hero belonging to the player that clicked the button, it gives the ability. Does this everytime it is clicked, should work.