• Listen to a special audio message from Bill Roper to the Hive Workshop community (Bill is a former Vice President of Blizzard Entertainment, Producer, Designer, Musician, Voice Actor) 🔗Click here to hear his message!
  • Read Evilhog's interview with Gregory Alper, the original composer of the music for WarCraft: Orcs & Humans 🔗Click here to read the full interview.

Charged items not being consumed

Status
Not open for further replies.

SpasMaster

Hosted Project: SC
Level 24
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
1,986
Hey guys,

I will try to go to the problem as fast as I can. =)
So here I am, having a map on one year. Love it, been doing it all day for so long time, until..

One day I decided to import a new spell, here from THW. It was an Omnislash spell, but I won't tell exactly which one it is because I am not sure if it's the source of the problem and I don't wanna blame it's maker.

So, what happened is this:
1.I imported the spell.
2.All I edited was:
-it's icon
-it's numbers (cooldown,damage, etc...)
3.I tested the map.
4.Everything seemed ok.
5.I saved it as I usually do.
6.I made some changes on my other spells (again, numbers only)
7.I test again and you know what I note?

KABOOM! Any consumable item (potions, scrolls, etc..) don't consume charges after being used. Say I have the item Healing Potion with 3 charges. I use it, gain 500 health but it's charges do not drop! Same goes for any other item.

Why I blame the spell? Well this problem wasn't there before the importing of the spell. I am also using the Stack'n Split system. I checked all the variables in case they collided (the ones from the spell and the stack system). Didn't find anything.

So the map is dead for more than 3-4 months, because people would have unlimited amount of potions. Any thoughts? I am ready to give you that unprotected (bugged) version of the map. The last one without the spell is here on THW. Version 6.2.

Thanks in advance!!!
 

Dr Super Good

Spell Reviewer
Level 64
Joined
Jan 18, 2005
Messages
27,258
Why I blame the spell? Well this problem wasn't there before the importing of the spell. I am also using the Stack'n Split system. I checked all the variables in case they collided (the ones from the spell and the stack system). Didn't find anything.

This is inconclusive evidence for it being the cause. If it really is the cause, you can just disable it and thus get instant and undenyable proof if or if not it is the cause (as it should not occur if the spell is disabled). This really sounds like a bug with your item stack system rather than a spell as spells seldomly should interact in such a way as to allow such item bugs.

Posting some of the triggers might help as well. Sometimes it can be something easilly overlooked causing the problem (like 2 triggers interacting in an obscure way).
 

SpasMaster

Hosted Project: SC
Level 24
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
1,986
This is inconclusive evidence for it being the cause. If it really is the cause, you can just disable it and thus get instant and undenyable proof if or if not it is the cause (as it should not occur if the spell is disabled). This really sounds like a bug with your item stack system rather than a spell as spells seldomly should interact in such a way as to allow such item bugs.

Posting some of the triggers might help as well. Sometimes it can be something easilly overlooked causing the problem (like 2 triggers interacting in an obscure way).

Not only I disabled it. Some of the things I tried were:
1.Deleting the Omnislash spell along with all it's variables.;Test.; Potions were still unlimited.; Then I quit world editor by NOT saving the map in order to restore the Omnislash spell.
2.Opening the map again, this time deleting Stack n'Split + it's variables.;Same procedure.;No positive results.
3.Re-opening again, deleting both the Omni spell and the Stack n' Split. AGAIN no result. Perhaps the damage they cause upon the potions is unreversable?

Did you copy and pasted all variables from downloaded spell?
Upload map, someone will fix it.

I used the option to automatically create variables when importing triggers.

And I should Update the current one, or upload the bugged one in some other section?
 

Dr Super Good

Spell Reviewer
Level 64
Joined
Jan 18, 2005
Messages
27,258
Not only I disabled it. Some of the things I tried were:
1.Deleting the Omnislash spell along with all it's variables.;Test.; Potions were still unlimited.; Then I quit world editor by NOT saving the map in order to restore the Omnislash spell.
2.Opening the map again, this time deleting Stack n'Split + it's variables.;Same procedure.;No positive results.
3.Re-opening again, deleting both the Omni spell and the Stack n' Split. AGAIN no result. Perhaps the damage they cause upon the potions is unreversable?

This points to eithor you having broken the object data, or a completly unrealted trigger system is causing the problem.

I advise starting by temporarilly deleting all triggers and seeing if it persists. If so then you have done something in the object editor to cause it otherwise some trigger system is causing the problem. If it is a trigger problem, then disable triggers a few at a time until you find the trigger which causes the problem.
 

Dr Super Good

Spell Reviewer
Level 64
Joined
Jan 18, 2005
Messages
27,258
You need to improve your coding skills... Along with a horendious amount of procedural coupling I found this...
  • Stuff
    • Events
      • Map initialization
    • Conditions
      • 1 Equal to 2
    • Actions
      • Do nothing
Although it has LOL value, it is pointless having it enabled.

Try repeating blocks of code as little as possible. An example of this is the anti tome leak where you have 1 trigger for each tome type where it could be made into 1 trigger for all tome types by merging conditions as all actions are the same.

The problem is caused by the "Slam Taunt" trigger which when the item ability is used it interrupts the unit with an attack itself order resulting in no charges being removed as the unit does not finish using the item. That trigger also breaks almost all abilities because it has no condition and so fires the attack order when all abilities are cast.

I told you often something small (like that) can cause a problem.
 
Last edited:

SpasMaster

Hosted Project: SC
Level 24
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
1,986
It is caused by a trigger (no idea which so far).

Luckily, I aways write my changelog in a notebook.
All the changes done from: Working, unbugged, currently on THW version to --> Bugged, Attached version that you are looking at.

-Terrain change
-New Spell: Battle Standard
-New Spell: Savage Slash, that gotta be the remaked Omnislash.
-Cooldown and Mana changes on Whirlwind
-Cooldown and hotkey changes on Divine Storm
-Damage changes on Smashing Light
!-Damage changes on Crusader Strike (this spell's damage is triggered [Folder-Spells])
!-Blade Master damage change (this spell's damage is caused by a summoned dummy unit with a Bladestorm ability[The actual damage ability has the ordinary Bladestorm icon])
-Army of the Dead cooldown change
-Changed the damage of a boss
-Improoved loot from crates on a specific place

That's all I have here. So whatever bugged the potions is in these.
 

SpasMaster

Hosted Project: SC
Level 24
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
1,986
You need to learn to trigger... Along with a horendious amount of procedural coupling I found this...
  • Stuff
    • Events
      • Map initialization
    • Conditions
      • 1 Equal to 2
    • Actions
      • Do nothing
Although it has LOL value, it is pointless having it enabled.

The problem is caused by the "Slam Taunt" trigger which when the item ability is used it interrupts the unit with an attack itself order. That trigger also breaks almost all abilities. This is because it has no condition and so fires the order when all abilities are cast.

I told you often something small (like that) can cause a problem.

I am indeed bad triggerer.
So you fixed it?!

That Slam trigger could really be the case!
As I typed in my previous post I added an ability -> Battle Standard, which goes on the place of the "Slam" ability which I deleted!
Woah...

So if it's fixed you can PM me the map or attach it to a post here. Anything is cool =)

EDIT: Actually you dont have to send it, I can delete one trigger by myself :D
EDIT 2: Tons of thanks to you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top