• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Change unit ownership to npc ally and keep separate original unit upgrades

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
Hi there I'm new to map making just made my first map in last few weeks.

It's team 1 vs team 2, each team has 5 human players and 1 npc (think castle fight).

Each player makes buildings, which create units every 30 sec. Change owner of last created unit to npc ally and then order unit to attack move to enemy base.

E.g. players 1-5 builds barracks, which creates footmen, change owner to player6 and retain color, atk move to enemy base.

PROBLEM
Each player has their own research center, where they can upgrade their own unit damage, armor, etc. I have been experimenting with diff ways but cannot make it so that your upgrades only affect your units when they transfer to the npc.

I think this can be solved easily with triggers but specifically the way I want to display upgrades is in the unit damage and armor section, show the little numbers increase from 0 to 1 etc.

upload_2018-8-17_10-27-8.png

Things I have tried:

A) in WE object editor upgrades section, if I set upgraded swords to apply to all units, it seems to do nothing, whether by itself or in combination with other settings.

upload_2018-8-17_10-30-55.png

B) if I set transfer with unit ownership to TRUE, then it applies the upgrade for other player's units that get transferred as well e.g. player 2's swordsmen will benefit from player1's upgraded swords as well. I want separate upgrades where your upgrades only benefit your own transferred units.

C) I tried looking in gameplay constants but I did not see anything related to share ally or global upgrades.