1. Head to the 33rd Modeling Contest Poll and drink to your heart's desire.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Choose your means of doom in the 17th Mini Mapping Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. A slave to two rhythms, the 22nd Terraining Contest is here.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The heavens smile on the old faithful. The 16th Techtree Contest has begun.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The die is cast - the 6th Melee Mapping Contest results have been announced. Onward to the Hive Cup!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The glory of the 20th Icon Contest is yours for the taking!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

[Trigger] Blink strike spell not working...

Discussion in 'Triggers & Scripts' started by Watcher, Nov 12, 2017.

  1. Watcher

    Watcher

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hi guys, I need some help...

    So I found a trigger for a blink-strike spell which I basically copied into test-map to see if it works, but it doesn't.

    I gave the spell to Ghoul, once inside the game, I use the spell, but only thing the ghoul does is that he plays cannibalize animation, while doing absolutely nothing else.

    Image of Spell Trigger
    Trigger.png


    Image of Spell Setup in Object editor
    Spell.png


    What I did wrong, can you help me guys pls?
     
  2. Flux

    Flux

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    2,333
    Resources:
    28
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    19
    Tutorials:
    2
    JASS:
    6
    Resources:
    28
    Set "Data - Follow Through Time" to zero. Or ~0.5 depending on the animation you wanted it to play during cast. Then use the Event "Starts the effect of an ability".
     
  3. Watcher

    Watcher

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thank you very much m8 now it finally works. :)

    One last question, how to set the CD? Cause I set "Stats-Cooldown 5 sec", but spells doesn't have a cooldown in game.
     
  4. DD_legionTN

    DD_legionTN

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    411
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    "Stats-Cooldown" is what you need to set, if the ability is not in cooldown, then there must be something wrong with your code.

    In your code you're using Move caster instantly to target_loc, which will interrupt current order, causing the ability to be fired without fully completed. If you want to move the caster, use
    SetUnitX
    and
    SetUnitY
    via custom script. These 2 functions do not interrupt current order unlike move unit instantly function, but not to be aware the these 2 functions doesn't check path collision.

    I would suggest you to read Things You Should Know When Using Triggers / GUI of Chapter 24 to move unit without interrupt of current order.

    For future references, please post your trigger in [trigger]your trigger[/trigger] for easier reading for helpers, and also yourself. For more details info, read this : How To Post Your Triggers
     
  5. Watcher

    Watcher

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thanks a lot m8, I figured it out! :D

    +1 rep for both of you for helping me and +1 extra rep for DD_legionTN for those 2 helpful links ;)