• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!

[vJASS] Basic Struct Help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 17
[Solved] Basic Struct Help

Hello,

I am trying to learn how structs work. I am planning to use them in a spell called Death Coil, which deals damage to the target equal to 20% of their current hit points.

The timer in the script is because I want the damage to be done only when the missile hits, i.e. I am calculating how long it takes to hit and waiting that amount of time.

Please note that I am new to vJASS and simple explanations will be appreciated :thumbs_up:

JASS:
scope DeathCoil

struct Spell
        unit Unit
    endstruct

function exp_act takes nothing returns nothing
        local real dmg = (GetUnitState(target.Unit, UNIT_STATE_LIFE) * 0.2)
        local texttag t = CreateTextTag()
        call UnitDamageTarget(caster.Unit, target.Unit, dmg, false, false, ATTACK_TYPE_NORMAL, DAMAGE_TYPE_NORMAL, null)
        call SetTextTagText(t, "|cff8000FF-" + I2S(R2I(dmg)) + "|r", 0.023)
        call SetTextTagPosUnit(t, target.Unit, 50)
        call SetTextTagVelocity(t, 0, 64 * 0.071 / 128)
        call SetTextTagPermanent(t, false)
        call SetTextTagLifespan(t, 2)
        call SetTextTagFadepoint(t, 1)
        call SetTextTagVisibility(t, true)
        set t = null       
    endfunction

function act takes nothing returns nothing
        local Spell caster = Spell.create()
        local Spell target = Spell.create()
        set caster.Unit = GetTriggerUnit()
        set target.Unit = GetSpellTargetUnit()
        local timer t = CreateTimer()
        local real dx = (GetUnitX(caster.Unit) - GetUnitX(target.Unit))
        local real dy = (GetUnitY(caster.Unit) - GetUnitY(target.Unit))
        local real dist
        set dist = SquareRoot((dx * dx) + (dy * dy))