1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Weave light to take you to your highest hopes - the 6th Special Effect Contest is here!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Lead your forces to battle in the 15th Techtree Contest. The call is yours, commander!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

[Spell] Aura of Undeath

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by ABronzeCross, Feb 3, 2019.

  1. ABronzeCross

    ABronzeCross

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2019
    Messages:
    192
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hello everyone! I am making a custom campaign (It's in my signature) and I plan to make a human necromancer. I'm going to skip the irrelevant stuff, if you want to know the whole story click the link below.

    The Problem:
    I was planning on making an aura that targets corpses, I needed it to cast the undead necromancer's "Raise Dead" ability on all corpses within x distance of the hero. You can't simply do this, Raise Dead isn't a buff... it's a spell. I'm screwed otherwise because I don't code JASS and I need someone out here to design some strings allowing this to happen for me.

    Thanks in advance, even if you can't help! I will write (Type) down your username and remember to make sure you make your way to the credits section.

    Also: If anyone can make a red vampire aura that would be helpful. I need 2 aura models, 1 for raise dead aura, 1 for a demonic bloodlust aura.
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2019
  2. Pinzu

    Pinzu

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,184
    Resources:
    3
    Spells:
    2
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    You want it to raise the dead passively. Just create a dummy unit and periodically move it to where the real hero is and order it to cast raise dead.

    Dummy Units Tutorial
     
  3. mogulkhan1Axe

    mogulkhan1Axe

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    280
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    You can also add like a 1 sec cooldown just cuz. Also what he said. Make a dummy and make it follow the real hero . Add the spell and change what it raises and use a loop trigger to check for corpses and if there are any make dummy use the spell
     
  4. ABronzeCross

    ABronzeCross

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2019
    Messages:
    192
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I want it to act immediately, like an aura, but without crashing or major lag from checking way too often, you know?
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2019
  5. ABronzeCross

    ABronzeCross

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2019
    Messages:
    192
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Has anyone actually looked at how the auras themselves work? Or is it too much work?
     
  6. mogulkhan1Axe

    mogulkhan1Axe

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    280
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Your best course of action is doing it with a dummy. You take a random passive spell. Change description for i to suit ur needs. Then when the unit learns the spell create a dmy to follow the unit. But only create a dummy when level 1 is learned because if u have more levels it will create a dummy every time u learn it. Then have the loop trigger that will check an aoe around the unit also moving the dummy to the unit position. There is no actual aura just a trigger checking the aoe around the unit. Now i recommend using like a 1 sec cd to prevent bugs and the dummy might not be able to cast super fast. That is my take on it.

    Edit: you can also attach a special effect to the unit upon learning it to make it look like it has an acual aura. You would be surprised in how many maps a spell for what it does it was created from something completely different and so u must create this spell that way also.
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2019
  7. ABronzeCross

    ABronzeCross

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2019
    Messages:
    192
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0

    Thanks! I'll credit you for being helpful In the development process. I don't code JASS, (At least that's what I think Wc3 uses, along with C.) so can you try to make it how you think it might work for me and share it here? The skeletons should be the same as the Necromancer's in every way, including their duration (With all upgrades). Also, if you chose to help we with this, the newest patch has a set limit of 1 pair of skeletons spawned at any given time, per necromancer.
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2019
  8. mogulkhan1Axe

    mogulkhan1Axe

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    280
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    2


    No problem but if i wasnt at work i would be making the spell instead of explaining ofc. But if u can wait 3 hours i will make it either way tho. Now as for the limit of 2 per one unit at any given time. Best course of action would be creating a dummy for every time it cycles corpses or creating the units via trigger for every corpse and adding an expiration timer. In this way you wouldnt need a dummy at all.
     
  9. ABronzeCross

    ABronzeCross

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2019
    Messages:
    192
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thanks! I currently don't have a cp capable of running World Editor or Wc3 at all, so I'm just setting us the story, gathering ideas, abilities and working out he technical stuff in the meantime.
     
  10. mogulkhan1Axe

    mogulkhan1Axe

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    280
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Np man i just help where i can



    EDIT: I made you the spell. Configurable through levels and all u need to do is just copy everything (dummy unit, spells (3x) in which one spell is for the effect of the aura you want. Ive added a 1 sec cd to check for corpses but u can change it to whichever you want(in the variable trigger). Also the type of the unit u want is in the dummy spell, so u can change the skeletons if u want to anything u desire or change it into 4 different ones (higher level> stronger skeletons). And to remove the unit from the spell casting simply remove the spell from the unit and that should take care of it. Also you can change the AOE u want in the dummy spell. I hope u like it. Also i used the Default ability Bash for the Hero spell, Its only visual and it does nothing. Change the tooltips and such things.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
  11. ABronzeCross

    ABronzeCross

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2019
    Messages:
    192
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thanks, once again.