• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Attack Speed Calculation

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 4
Hi :) Sorry if this has been asked before, but i tried to google, and search for it on this site :)
the problem is, i got a hero which has an attack speed of 2.0 seconds, i've made an item that decreases attack speed by 1.2. (in world editor, guess that means 120% :)) How much attack speed would the hero have after that? I really need to know this as im making a map where theres alot of modern weapons in, and you can attack quite fast with those in real :)

ps. please give me an easy formula, as im not very good at maths :p

Level 3
A. spd. - Percentage
2.0 - 100%
X - 120%

X=2.0*120/100=2.4
2.0-2.4=-0.4

I doubt there's any way for a unit to have negative cooldown on its attack, so... I'm not sure what the result would be.

Level 4
Can it be like this?
2.0 attack speed of unit, decreased by 120% = 0.8 attack speed?
100% halfs the 2.0, so its 1.0, and then theres 20% left - which makes it to 0.8? :/

No. 120% of 2.0 is:
- 2*1.2 = 2.4

Thus, 120% attack speed would be 2.4.

So 2.-2.4 would be -.4

If you have taken, probably at least Pre-Algebra :p you should know that 120% is more than 2.0. Because it is 2.0+20% of 2.0.

If you want it to have 0.8 attack speed, you must decrease the attack speed by 40% if I calculated correctly.

.8/2 = 0.4
.40 = 40%

WE takes the values like actual math. So 120% wouldn't be 1.2, unless 1 is the 100% value.

Level 4
NO! YOU'RE ALL WRONG! :) Including me, actually! This is the master update fixing EVERYTHING!