1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

AOE ability that targets the whole map

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Knightmawk, Jul 2, 2009.

  1. Knightmawk

    Knightmawk

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I want to make an ability that targets the entire map when it is used but when I try to use it with AOE set to 99999 the game fails
     
  2. QirajiLord

    QirajiLord

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    What I would do is change the base spell to something like Thunderclap, make it so it doesn't actually do anything by changing all the stats that matter, and then trigger it...
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Starts the effect of an ability
    • Conditions
      • (Ability being cast) Equal to <Whatever>
    • Actions
      • Set Tempgroup = (Units in (Playable map area))
      • For each (Integer integer) from 0 to 10, do (Actions)
        • Loop - Actions
          • Set Tempunit = (Random unit from Tempgroup)
          • If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
            • If - Conditions
              • ((Owner of Tempunit) is an enemy of (Owner of (Triggering unit))) Equal to True
            • Then - Actions
              • Unit - Cause (Triggering unit) to damage Tempunit, dealing 150.00 damage of attack type Chaos and damage type Normal
            • Else - Actions
          • Unit Group - Remove Tempunit from Tempgroup
      • Custom script: call DestroyGroup(udg_Tempgroup)


    That's pretty simpe. No Special Effects, just a flat damage done to all enemies. You can take it as far as you want to go, making it based on the level of the spell or whatever. It uses three variables, just because I like to keep things orderly, but you could cut it down to one... I think. Maybe two. I'm not sure how the Integer A and Integer B works with loops, so I specified my own integer.
     
  3. darkrider

    darkrider

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    780
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    integer a and b work as normal integers... but if you use them several times you will start to notice problems, because the get overwritten by themselves (its like using the same variable a lot of times at the same time :p)
     
  4. QirajiLord

    QirajiLord

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    They work as normal integers? How do you specify them is what I am confused about, though. Meh, this isn't the place to ask about it, as I don't want to hijack his thread. Just easier for me to use one integer variable and set it to what I need.
     
  5. Knightmawk

    Knightmawk

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    can I make this trigger summon units around the temppoint

    The goal of this spell is to basically rain infernals down on everything in the map. Im thinking right now I will just create a whole bunch of random regions and have target regionXXX with XXXX trigger

    It's a doomclock system, time runs out unit casts _______ infernals go everywhere.
     
  6. Restor

    Restor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    728
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    what do you mean by "everything"? Every unit? every building, every destructible?

    You can just pick every unit in playable area, and then lets say, create dummy there, and then pick all dummies and make them cast inferno on their position, it might work. But would be very laggy
     
  7. HailFireer

    HailFireer

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    761
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Um, cant he just use Unit Group - pick every unit in entire playable aria and do multiple actions? Sounds way simpler to me.
    Aldo that could be me. Variables always make my head spin.
     
  8. darkrider

    darkrider

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    780
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    yes, i would use a unit group and create a dummy in the position of the picked unit and order it to cast summon infernal at position of picked unit.

    yes, you can make it summon at random points around the unit

    i'll make you the trigger gimme a moment

    EDIT: here it is

    • Untitled Trigger 001
      • Actions
        • Set Unit_Group = (Units in (Playable map area))
        • Unit Group - Pick every unit in Unit_Group and do (Actions)
          • Loop - Actions
            • Set Point_Var = (Position of (Picked unit))
            • Unit - Create 1 (Infernals caster) for (X Player) at Point_Var facing Default building facing degrees
            • Set InfernoCaster = (Last created unit)
            • Unit - Add a 1.00 second Generic expiration timer to InfernoCaster
            • Unit - Order InfernoCaster to Undead Dreadlord - Inferno Point_Var
            • For each (Integer A) from 1 to 4, do (Actions)
              • Loop - Actions
                • Set Point_Var2 = (Point_Var offset by 100.00 towards (Random angle) degrees)
                • Unit - Order InfernoCaster to Undead Dreadlord - Inferno Point_Var2
                • Custom script: call RemoveLocation(udg_Point_Var2)
            • Custom script: call RemoveLocation(udg_Point_Var)
        • Custom script: call DestroyGroup(udg_Unit_Group)


    you gotta check if this works fine with a casting time of 0... if its not then try creating one caster perinfernal summoned and it will work fine