• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

A Question on the Nature of Memory Leaks

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 3
I'm fairly new to the WE, and I've stumbled across different tutorials on leaks and how to avoid them. So far I'm not too worried since I'm only making an altered melee map with a pretty minimal amount of triggering. But something still confuses me. Everyone talks about these leaks in terms of "location"; the game loses track of where a unit is. The solution, they say, is to remove the location immediately after using it. Does it work instead just to remove the unit? So, for example, I have a trigger that creates a dummy unit at a target location, but then removes the dummy unit a few second later. I also have a few triggers that create units at specific spots without removing them, but they're not looping. Some clarification here would be great, especially if I'm just misunderstanding leaks altogether (the tutorials I looked at didn't have very clear explanations for someone just starting).

Level 3
IcemanBo said:
A dynamic object gets created at runtime.
You lose access to it when it falls out of scope.
I don't know what this means. What scope?

IcemanBo said:
Once you create an object you also have to destroy it properly after usage. If you don't destroy the object, but also can't refer to it it anymore, this is what is called memory leak
What do you mean by usage? How does the game lost its reference to the object? Why do you use "object" where other tutorials talks about "location"?

Dr Super Good

Spell Reviewer
Level 64
What do you mean by usage?