• Listen to a special audio message from Bill Roper to the Hive Workshop community (Bill is a former Vice President of Blizzard Entertainment, Producer, Designer, Musician, Voice Actor) 🔗Click here to hear his message!
  • Read Evilhog's interview with Gregory Alper, the original composer of the music for WarCraft: Orcs & Humans 🔗Click here to read the full interview.

a noob question about full screen inventory systems

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 17
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
1,814
so i am noob really in this thing, but i checked few map, mostly each icon is 1 destructible or something, but dont have any solution for make it with 1 model or something and attach a picture on it?

example if u made alot item, every item get different icon, then easier to put at map init every icon path into string array then create 1 destructible to each item icon...

exist solution for this?

also if u want make a mpi full screen invetory crap, where u want getlocal hide/show thing, then trackables or unit+destructibles is the best way?
 
Level 28
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
4,789
I really don't understand your questions completely, but I've made a Custom Window-pack some time ago. Pastebin-link.
It contains several model-files for borders and icons and an information-file with everything you need to know to create your own icons for a full-screen inventory.

I find trackables to be better. I somehow think they're more responsive, they can be local without desyncs and they also have an on-hover event (when your mouse hovers over them, you can show text or whatever).
 
Level 17
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
1,814
I really don't understand your questions completely, but I've made a Custom Window-pack some time ago. Pastebin-link.
It contains several model-files for borders and icons and an information-file with everything you need to know to create your own icons for a full-screen inventory.

I find trackables to be better. I somehow think they're more responsive, they can be local without desyncs and they also have an on-hover event (when your mouse hovers over them, you can show text or whatever).

whatever i made it and need tester but i post the link into another thread

http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/2245833-post20.html
 
Level 28
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
4,789
That seems to work all right.
Some suggestions:
- change the color of the requirements if they're met, they were all red, so I thought I couldn't carry it.
Would be nice to have some visual feedback on your requirements :).
- When hovering over empty slots, you could display which slots they are.
- It actually seems pretty annoying to add items. There are certainly other ways, but if this is just for you that doesn't really matter all too much.
 
Level 17
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
1,814
That seems to work all right.
Some suggestions:
- change the color of the requirements if they're met, they were all red, so I thought I couldn't carry it.
Would be nice to have some visual feedback on your requirements :).
- When hovering over empty slots, you could display which slots they are.
- It actually seems pretty annoying to add items. There are certainly other ways, but if this is just for you that doesn't really matter all too much.

1. that right and i will change but still i dont got ideea about right color coz i am sucks in design hehe :D
2. only usefull if slot is a equipment slots, else i destroyed the multiboard for stats (what is sub multiboard if multiboard allways on)
3. 2 click to a item => instant equip to right place if all requiment is done also if double click to potion or charged things=use that item, indifferent it is in old or in new inventory ;)

or u can do easier way than simple 2 click?
about moveing from old inventory to new one, hm that i will change, when unit pick item then automatically will be placed into new inventory.


another thing item swaping (1 item place over another if not same item type then item place will be swapped) and stacking/refine/socket work
 
Level 28
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
4,789
1. that right and i will change but still i dont got ideea about right color coz i am sucks in design hehe :D
2. only usefull if slot is a equipment slots, else i destroyed the multiboard for stats (what is sub multiboard if multiboard allways on)
3. 2 click to a item => instant equip to right place if all requiment is done also if double click to potion or charged things=use that item, indifferent it is in old or in new inventory ;)

or u can do easier way than simple 2 click?
about moveing from old inventory to new one, hm that i will change, when unit pick item then automatically will be placed into new inventory.


another thing item swaping (1 item place over another if not same item type then item place will be swapped) and stacking/refine/socket work
Hehe, I noticed that double-clicking ato-equips an item myself after posting :).

Anyway, I meant adding new items to the system is annoying. Like, in the world editor. It seems so... unorganized.

Edit: oh, another thing: the camera seems to be moving a bit slow o_O (doesn't go to the inventory instantly, there's a little fade in/out).
Though it is fancy, I don't really like that.
 
Level 17
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
1,814
i still think on that fade in/out...
generally i guess it is coz fogmidifier not instantly and i totally hide the whole interface + set black mask on area then when u use inventory ability then i destroy that fogmodifier and make it visible, this part where i guess have a bit problem because dont will be visible the area instantly with fogmodifier :/

about adding new item, in my demo map i used more item category based on item level (for me this more better than baseing on item type id) so every item level is unique and i use item level intervals like:

50 - 99 -tomes
100 - 149 - heavy armor
150 - 199 - light armor
200 - 249 - mage armor
250 - 299 - heavy helm
300 - 349 - light helm
350 - 399 - mage helm
400 - 449 - heavy boot
450 - 499 - light boot
500 - 549 - mage boot
550 - 599 - wing
600 - 649 - rings
650 - 699 - amulet
700 - 749 - shields
750 - 799 - short sword (1hand)
800 - 849 - axe/hammer
850 - 899 - long sword
900 - 949 - bow
950 - 999 - dagger (dual dagger)
1000 - 1049 - wand
1050 - 1050 - magic staff
1500 - 1505 - socket gems
1506 - refine items
1600 - 1609 mats (aren't implentet in demo)
1900 - 1999 potions (aren't implentet in demo)

sorry but i dont see where is unorganized because in world editor only what u must do:
1. create a new item and change the icon and description ofc
2. set the item level to the right/unused item level
3. make destructible and set same icon than you item have

then comming the trigger part:
1. set Item_Type[your item level] = your item type
2. attach your destructible to your item call SaveInteger(udg_Inv_Slots, 600, *your item item level*, 'your destructible raw code')

then u can attach data with simple:
call SaveInteger(udg_Item_Table, *item level*, *properties 0-30*, *value*)

the properties are the following:
itemstatvalue
0 - item lv
1 - accurancy
2 - agi bonus
3 - armor break (chance for ignore the target defence)
4 - attack speed
5 - attack lv
6 - block damage (%)
7 - class requiment //useless since have stat requiment
8 - critical
9 - critical dmg
10 - defence lv
11 - physical damage
12 - evasion
13 - experience bonus
14 - hp
15 - hp regen
16 - int bonus
17 - life steal
18 - magic attack (%, convert base attack to magic)
19 - magic ressist
20 - mov speed
21 - mp
22 - mp regen
23 - mp steal
24 - physical def
25 - pet power
26 - reflect damage (%)
27 - max socket place in item
28 - spell power
29 - str bonus
30 - price

how can u organise better if u have alot properties?
 
Level 17
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
1,814
i still think on that fade in/out...
generally i guess it is coz fogmidifier not instantly and i totally hide the whole interface + set black mask on area then when u use inventory ability then i destroy that fogmodifier and make it visible, this part where i guess have a bit problem because dont will be visible the area instantly with fogmodifier :/

about adding new item, in my demo map i used more item category based on item level (for me this more better than baseing on item type id) so every item level is unique and i use item level intervals like:

50 - 99 - tomes
100 - 149 - heavy armor
150 - 199 - light armor
200 - 249 - mage armor
250 - 299 - heavy helm
300 - 349 - light helm
350 - 399 - mage helm
400 - 449 - heavy boot
450 - 499 - light boot
500 - 549 - mage boot
550 - 599 - wing
600 - 649 - rings
650 - 699 - amulet
700 - 749 - shields
750 - 799 - short sword (1hand)
800 - 849 - axe/hammer
850 - 899 - long sword
900 - 949 - bow
950 - 999 - dagger (dual dagger)
1000 - 1049 - wand
1050 - 1050 - magic staff
1500 - 1505 - socket gems
1506 - refine items
1600 - 1609 mats (aren't implentet in demo)
1900 - 1999 potions (aren't implentet in demo)
sorry but i dont see where is unorganized because in world editor only what u must do:
1. create a new item and change the icon and description ofc
2. set the item level to the right/unused item level
3. make destructible and set same icon than you item have

then comming the trigger part:
1. set Item_Type[your item level] = your item type
2. attach your destructible to your item call SaveInteger(udg_Inv_Slots, 600, *your item item level*, 'your destructible raw code')

then u can attach data with simple:
call SaveInteger(udg_Item_Table, *item level*, *properties 0-30*, *value*)

the properties are the following:
itemstatvalue
0 - item lv
1 - accurancy
2 - agi bonus
3 - armor break (chance for ignore the target defence)
4 - attack speed
5 - attack lv
6 - block damage (%)
7 - class requiment //useless since have stat requiment
8 - critical
9 - critical dmg
10 - defence lv
11 - physical damage
12 - evasion
13 - experience bonus
14 - hp
15 - hp regen
16 - int bonus
17 - life steal
18 - magic attack (%, convert base attack to magic)
19 - magic ressist
20 - mov speed
21 - mp
22 - mp regen
23 - mp steal
24 - physical def
25 - pet power
26 - reflect damage (%)
27 - max socket place in item
28 - spell power
29 - str bonus
30 - price
...............
98 - attachment path (so this is string)

how can u organise better if u have alot properties?
 
Level 28
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
4,789
Yeah, with that massive amount of properties it's going to be hard :/
At first I was thinking about something like "call addItem( item, price, stats --- )". Doesn't seem feasible with that amount of stats though.
In that case, the only thing that slightly annoys me is the alphabetical order you've put them in, but that might just be me :D (I prefer having attributes right next to each other, everything that has to do with survivability etc).
 
Level 17
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
1,814
that right, anyway what i said(''call addItem( item, price, stats,..'' )) is 100% possible even with alot stat but the main problem the saveing equipment via codes will be minim 15x longer than the items with fixed stat :D

whatever a small part already there but only saved thing is: refine level, refine amount, inserted socket amount, socket value (a number, how many and how many type socket was inserted into item)
JASS:
function AddCustomItem takes item itm, integer ref, integer refv, integer socket, integer socketv returns nothing
    local integer Id = GetHandleId(itm)
    set udg_CIIndex = udg_CIIndex + 1
    set udg_CItemId[udg_CIIndex] = Id
    set udg_CItem[udg_CIIndex] = itm
    call SaveInteger(udg_CItem_Table, Id, 100, udg_CIIndex)
    call SaveInteger(udg_CItem_Table, Id, 0, ref)
    call SaveInteger(udg_CItem_Table, Id, 1, refv)
    call SaveInteger(udg_CItem_Table, Id, 2, socket)
    call SaveInteger(udg_CItem_Table, Id, 3, socketv)
    if udg_CIIndex == 1 then
        call EnableTrigger( gg_trg_Checking_Custom_Items )
    endif
endfunction

because u can see, u refine a item and drop out then pick up again and item kept the refined level and values :p

same if we save other stat, then just 2-3 function will be a bit longer with +save integer function calls but the MAIN problem when save load code will be insinely long
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top