1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

A new World Editor

Discussion in 'Warcraft Editing Tools' started by Zoxc, Jul 31, 2006.

  1. Zoxc

    Zoxc

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Resources:
    1
    Tools:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I am making a new map editor for Warcraft III and would like some ideas and opinions. I will focus most on the Trigger Editor and the Object Editor. I doubt I'll recreate the terrain editor. Maybe a 2D tileset editor.

    See this thread: http://wc3campaigns.net/showthread.php?p=826068
     
  2. Kernel Dr.Volt_age

    Kernel Dr.Volt_age

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    59
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    PLEASE !!!!!!!!!! improve the trigger editor

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  3. KeeperMustDie

    KeeperMustDie

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Good Idea continue You work!!! Im to want to create one tool on Wc3 WE But I need source code of BLP conversion and Mdx loading maybe You can send it to me?
     
  4. abilityeditorneed

    abilityeditorneed

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    If you can, I gotta have ability editor... can it be unlocked in your editor you are going to make?
     
  5. Daddy Long Legs

    Daddy Long Legs

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    The thing that annoys me in the regular WC3 editor is you can only have one type of water color. That really sucks for my map because I have swamp and an ocean. If you could fix this problem, I will build a statue of you.
     
  6. Novaicy

    Novaicy

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    omg

    can u make it so u can creat classes for items?

    do u have msn >?
     
  7. Reinhold

    Reinhold

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    183
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Idead!How about modifying the damage values.On the original editor it accepted damage with +100,in this editor you might do something to accept damage with -100.And this editor should need some new spells like:Cluster Rockets,Transmute,Healing Spray,Toxic Flask,Chain Freezing,etc.And please insert also help on how to use the trigger editor.And should be a tutorial on how to create icons and what they need to work.I read the tutorial at the site,but it's not sufficient.Well there could be more features like:
    -words can now be coloured;
    -if you add the metal frame on the editor,please be automatical there,when we want to create icons.
     
  8. Kensitu

    Kensitu

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    although i don't know how to make a map but i have tons of good ideas about making a map. if you ask for it i can help you with ideas
     
  9. uzi8

    uzi8

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    If you can,make it so i can have 2 times open(i open 2 world edits and than i can easly copy units,items,triggers.........from one map to other)!
     
  10. Rui

    Rui

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    8,495
    Resources:
    8
    Maps:
    8
    Resources:
    8
    I've seen that topic once.

    Well, is it possible to add around 20 tiles? Or is 16 the engine's maximum?

    And about terrains larger than 256x256, I've experienced some bugs. For example, being unable to summon a building EVEN while on Blight. A message that it needs to be summoned upon blight will appear nonetheless.
     
  11. operator

    operator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,670
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Don't know if it's possible but; Adding use of variables to events
     
  12. HappyTauren

    HappyTauren

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8,414
    Resources:
    87
    Models:
    61
    Icons:
    23
    Packs:
    1
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    87
    it is. i tried to add 3 more tiles (before using weu) via hacking some file inside map. their names are 4 letters long strings that are ununderstandable, but i opened some file inside war3.mpq and found all those strings have heir string relatives in we : LG1T = lordeaon grass, for example

    i hacked it so it has 25 tiles! but ingame instead of last 9 tiles it showed up random 9 from those that game considers accetable.
     
  13. Bob27

    Bob27

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3,028
    Resources:
    12
    Maps:
    6
    Tutorials:
    6
    Resources:
    12
    One thing that would be so awsome, would be multi level pathing. There would be alot of maps that could use something like that.
     
  14. Nety0

    Nety0

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    Could you, by ANY chance, make a version of this that will work on Mac OS X 10.3 and higher? That would help us who don't have a Windows and can't afford one at the moment! Macs must run .app, they can't run .exe.
     
  15. Nety0

    Nety0

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    Eugh!! My siggy is just.. BLEH!!
     
  16. brad.dude03

    brad.dude03

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,267
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    Right, make a much easier importing system. I mean not complaining about TFT's since it's lightyears ahead of importing in ROC, but make it even easier if at all possible. Like to the point where you only have to click to browse to import and then later on when doing unit data just replace it and it's good. That would make life so much easier :D
     
  17. The guy who needs help

    The guy who needs help

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    187
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    @Nety that post is a complete and moronic spam
    I have an idea about the wehelper can u add more tinting colors so ur able to make a unit white without loosing space on a reskin?
     
  18. IhateArthas

    IhateArthas

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Messages:
    200
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    put a trigger type for enhancing spells (better than WEU's because thats plain confusing) so like if u cast a spell there will be like 20 effects at once... or like the unit teleporting to targeted place with spec... nvm thats easy to do... but how about like in the spell enhancement u can make 5 spells trigger at once without useing dummyspells (like a unit casts an ability and then all his abilitys go off at once) and other things like that... A WHOLE SECTION OF THINGS TO MAKE COOLER SPELLS THE EZ WAY!

    and maybe to where u can use imported skins on some ppl but not all like u have 2 types of sorceress's one that has your imported skin, and one that has normal! now that would be awsome!

    make it to where u can import a skin
    ...then use imported skin or ROC or TFT skin
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 26, 2007
  19. brad.dude03

    brad.dude03

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9,267
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    You can already do the bit about the Sorceress part. Just import your skin, use it on one sorceress, and then make another Sorceress using copy and paste or New Unit (doesn't really matter) and set that one to use the normal sorceress skin. Easy as that.
     
  20. IhateArthas

    IhateArthas

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Messages:
    200
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    and exactly how do u do that? all sorceress' i make when i import a skin for it will use it