• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

WC3 map viable to showcase game protoype?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
hey guys, just quickly introducing myself.

i'm a professional concept artist, but loving all areas of game development. over the last year though i started thinking, then even actively developing my own game idea. i used to make pretty intricate and moderately popular wc3c maps back in the days (used to post here alot too) so i want to get back into it, to test out my plans.

my game idea is very simple at its core, but like most "good" games, the complexity lies underneath the mechanics. imagine a game like hearthstone, which is superficially simple and would not take a gigantic budget to develop.

i am 100% convinced of the potential success of my idea (succes meaning not that i will be a millionaire but that i could create a profitable startup by launching this game), and so i want to get started.

my question is, primarily, if any of you have experience with indie game development, and wether a prototype created in the wc3 editor could effectively communicate the core principles and mechanics of the game?

would potential investors reject an idea, if a prototype is presented as wc3 map? and how close is the trigger system in the map editor, to actual game coding? i was pretty decent at developing complex interacting systems with the gui triggers, variables and all that stuff (never got into jass though)

would appreciate any kind of feedback from you guys!

Dr Super Good

Spell Reviewer
Level 63