• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Updates - June 29, 2009

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 4
Well, progress on the map has been going good, but hasn't moved forward as far as I had expected by this time. The main reason for that is that I started learning vJASS so that I could become fairly independent as far as requiring someone to code for me. Thankfully I've been able to learn at a reasonably good pace, and I've started discovering how horrible most of the code in my map really is. That's what happens when you get 3 or 4 different people coding the core of your map over a year -_-

Anyway, so I've been spending time cleaning up, reorganizing, optimizing and in some cases, just plain remaking a lot of the stuff in my map that was originally already "finished".

Here is an example of something I did. I had a semi-working Generator tower before, but it wasn't exactly to my liking. At the time, however, I was lacking the skills to be able to do it myself, but now I can!

So this is the first tower in my map that I coded entirely myself. And I must say, I'm quite pleased with the results.

attachment.php

And here is the code for the tower:

JASS:
//Generator Tower by Zaraf
scope GeneratorTower initializer Init

globals
            private constant string  CIRCLE_SFX    = "Abilities\\Weapons\\SpiritOfVengeanceMissile\\SpiritOfVengeanceMissile.mdl"  //Special effect that the range circle is made up of
            private constant string  UNIT_SFX_HIT  = "Abilities\\Weapons\\Bolt\\BoltImpact.mdl"
            private constant integer PASSIVE_ID    = 'A00Q' //raw code of the passive dummy ability that just is meant to keep track of the ability level.