• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Total newb wondering if I'm wasting my time

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
I have an idea for a TD, something I've been thinking about for a while. I used to play a lot of D&D and want to make a TD based upon the races, classes, and monsters, presented in the Core 3rd/4th Edition D&D. I want to create a system where the towers have multiple modes of upgrade, and there are multiple points of defense that creeps must break through.

Basic ideas:
-There will be 8 races (from 4th edition D&D; Dragonborn, Dwarf, Eladrin, Elf, Half-elf, Halfling, Human, and Tiefling).
-Each race will have a different focus (common with TD's)
-Each race will contain 8 classes [towers] (Cleric, Fighter, Paladin, Ranger, Rogue, Warlock, Warlord, and Wizard)
-You can spend gold to upgrade towers 'equipment' and XP (represented by lumber) to add abilities such as IAS, and added damage, etc.
-There will be no mazing in this TD. But there will be some melee range units that can be placed on the creeps path.
-Creeps move down their path until it reaches a gate (with orders to destroy the gates). Secondary towers (unique to each race) guard the gate.
-Once the gate is destroyed they start ransacking the granery (which is where player lives come into play). Once they have emtied the granary that player has lost.

Now I have no experience with programming or map making. To my own credit I'm an intelligent person who's good at troubleshooting and figuring things out given some initial direction.

I guess my questions are:
1) Is there a particularly good guide on creating TD's that I can read?