Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

The thing with the saving...

Discussion in 'The 2 Player Campaign' started by Basinator, Oct 19, 2011.

  1. Basinator

    Basinator

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    73
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    1) Can the game also be saved like you are able to in the SP campaign? Can I save the gamestate within a level the old way 1 time per player?

    2) Any chance to use another save method at the end of the level than with those long codes? OR: Do you have any tip how to use them more comfortable (<- What about writing a tool which puts the code into the clipboard?)?
     
  2. McQvaBlood

    McQvaBlood

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    529
    Resources:
    44
    Packs:
    4
    Maps:
    40
    Resources:
    44
    I'm pretty sure the multiplayer save works, you can save the game and load it.
    As for that script, if you write it, I shall use it.
     
  3. Basinator

    Basinator

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    73
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Uh the prob for MP is you can only save one time per player, can you not?
     
  4. McQvaBlood

    McQvaBlood

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    529
    Resources:
    44
    Packs:
    4
    Maps:
    40
    Resources:
    44
    That I do not know.
     
  5. Rui

    Rui

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    8,529
    Resources:
    8
    Maps:
    8
    Resources:
    8
    Why exactly doesn't this game use gamecache? Anyone who's dedicated enough will hack into the code, there's really no point in attempting to bypass that by forcing people to write gigantic codes.
     
  6. McQvaBlood

    McQvaBlood

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    529
    Resources:
    44
    Packs:
    4
    Maps:
    40
    Resources:
    44
    Game caches do not work in multiplayer games, that's why.
    We're not trying to bypass anything, it's so that you can have the items you collected.
     
  7. Rui

    Rui

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    8,529
    Resources:
    8
    Maps:
    8
    Resources:
    8
    Are you sure? Because I remember testing gamecache in multiplayer in the past and it working. If I ever decide to postpone my current work for a bit to try designing a map with this concept, I'll certainly be giving gamecache a try.
     
  8. McQvaBlood

    McQvaBlood

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    529
    Resources:
    44
    Packs:
    4
    Maps:
    40
    Resources:
    44
    Actually, now that you mention it, I never experimented with the game caches.
    TheSpoon said they don't work and designed three campaigns using the code system when I started my own campaign. I never gave it much thought. However... I have this feeling I may have checked this out before, because I was not surprised by his claim that they do not work and never felt the need to test it myself and see if he was wrong.

    I mean, if they did, then the campaigns would be self-sufficient in storing heroes and items, meaning we would not even need to edit that part at all. I'm sure the load code was introduced after encountering that this in fact does not work (in multiplayer), but I honestly don't know for sure anymore.
     
  9. Adiktuz

    Adiktuz

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    9,674
    Resources:
    23
    Models:
    2
    Packs:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    16
    Tutorials:
    1
    JASS:
    2
    Resources:
    23
    Gamecaches work in MP mode, but only on the instance of that map... once the map is finished, the gamecache data becomes lost even if you saved it... that was how it is when I last tried it on an MP map or even an SP map, in LAN mode...
     
  10. McQvaBlood

    McQvaBlood

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    529
    Resources:
    44
    Packs:
    4
    Maps:
    40
    Resources:
    44
    Ah, I see. So yeah, technically it's no good for storing data between maps.