• Listen to a special audio message from Bill Roper to the Hive Workshop community (Bill is a former Vice President of Blizzard Entertainment, Producer, Designer, Musician, Voice Actor) 🔗Click here to hear his message!
  • Read Evilhog's interview with Gregory Alper, the original composer of the music for WarCraft: Orcs & Humans 🔗Click here to read the full interview.

Show exp gain

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 27
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
4,981
I've tried everything,i know how to create a trigger what shows the damage in red above the unit and let it then fade out but i dont know how to do the same thing with exp the hero did after he killed the unit ... i've tried almost everything .. or its rly hard or its a WEU thingy xD tell me :p

EDIT - Ah come on ppl someone must know this :(
 
Last edited:

Dr Super Good

Spell Reviewer
Level 64
Joined
Jan 18, 2005
Messages
27,258
Operator, that will display the killing heroes current exp but not the exp gain (which I presume he is after).
There are 2 way.

1. Make a system where killing units gets no exp but instead the exp is added by using trieggers in which case you know the ammount added and so can display it.

2. Make a system that every 0.10 seconds checks a heroe's exp to see if it has increased and if it has it displays the ammount it has increased.

Hope this helps.
 
Level 27
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
4,981
  • Melee Initialization
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Dies
    • Conditions
    • Actions
      • Floating Text - Change text of (Last created floating text) to (String((Hero experience of (Killing unit)))) using font size 10.00

Thats exactly what i have done in my game so that doesnt work ;)

Operator, that will display the killing heroes current exp but not the exp gain (which I presume he is after).
There are 2 way.

1. Make a system where killing units gets no exp but instead the exp is added by using trieggers in which case you know the ammount added and so can display it.

2. Make a system that every 0.10 seconds checks a heroe's exp to see if it has increased and if it has it displays the ammount it has increased.

Hope this helps.

Yes i was thinking about adding an Triggered-exp thingy into my RPG but i tried everything to show exp which is gained by the hero .. it doesnt work .. i shall just use a triggered-exp system .. thanks for the idea for showing the exp amount though i didnt think about that that quik :p
 
Level 13
Joined
Aug 31, 2005
Messages
823
I looked into it. Heres what I got :thumbs_up:
Should work ok. Might leak if theres alot of combat going on at the same time. (Being trigger based and all). Best method would probably be to use JASS. (I dont know Jass very well so you'll hafta ask someone else if you decide to take that path)
 

Attachments

  • Test.w3x
    13.2 KB · Views: 87
Level 19
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
2,165
HuH? I think it doesn't work Herio-san.
U set x is the experience of the paladin, that is getting subtracted from the original hero's xp.
This displays actualy lets say:
Paladin has 300/900 xp
Ur hero has 150/900 xp
The editor would do
300-150 = 150. I think, I'm not pretty sure about it.
Each unit/hero gives a specific amount of xp, and it isn't this.
 
Level 3
Joined
Dec 1, 2006
Messages
27
First set the hero as a variable (set: (Hero) to (your hero)) and an integer as a variable (set: (heroEXP) to (Curent expirience of (Hero)))
Then use:
Event:
  • A unit: dies
Action:
  • Floating Text - Create text at (unit position of (Hero)) to (String((Hero experience of (Hero)) - (tempEXP)) using font size xx.xx
  • set: heroEXP (Hero expirience of (Hero)
This will work for a single hero, you can use Array with the Hero variable.
 
Level 7
Joined
Dec 20, 2006
Messages
348
First set the hero as a variable (set: (Hero) to (your hero)) and an integer as a variable (set: (heroEXP) to (Curent expirience of (Hero)))
Then use:
  • Event:
  • A unit: dies
  • Action:
  • Floating Text - Create text at (unit position of (Hero)) to (String((Hero experience of (Hero)) - (tempEXP)) using font size xx.xx
  • set: heroEXP (Hero expirience of (Hero)
This will work for a single hero, you can use Array with the Hero variable.

just correcting it :)

  • Exp Gain
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Dies
    • Conditions
    • Actions
      • Floating Text - Create floating text that reads ... above No unit with Z offset 0.00, using font size 10.00, color (100.00%, 100.00%, 100.00%), and 0.00% transparency
      • Set heroEXP = (Hero experience of (Hero)
this is mainly custom built, dont expect to fully copy it
 
Last edited:
Level 27
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
4,981
Eh illidan .. it does work in the map you show me but i cant get it implanted in my map for some reason .. i've changed the variables of the heroes and such but i also have to change the 'expold' and 'expnew' variable? anyways if i kill a unit the exp wont show up..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top