1. Head to the 33rd Modeling Contest Poll and drink to your heart's desire.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Choose your means of doom in the 17th Mini Mapping Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. A slave to two rhythms, the 22nd Terraining Contest is here.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The heavens smile on the old faithful. The 16th Techtree Contest has begun.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The die is cast - the 6th Melee Mapping Contest results have been announced. Onward to the Hive Cup!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The glory of the 20th Icon Contest is yours for the taking!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Selectable Hero, Not on the Map

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Istvan Kiraly, May 5, 2009.

  1. Istvan Kiraly

    Istvan Kiraly

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    For my current project, I would like for each player to have a sort of omniscient hero who is capable of casting abilities anywhere on the map, and thus must be selectable. However, I do not wish for this unit to be actually seen on the map itself; it should not be involved directly in the game and only in the form of casting abilities.

    What would the best way be to have such a hero exist, who is selectable and usable by the player to cast abilities, but cannot actually be seen on the map itself by anyone?
     
  2. graystuff111

    graystuff111

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    715
    Resources:
    23
    Icons:
    20
    Skins:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    23
    Um, type in graystuff111 rocks!!! into the model path of the hero, and set the selection scale to -1, like in :
    example
    [​IMG]

    Then have the player just select the hero with the icon in the top-right corner
     
  3. -ALPHA-

    -ALPHA-

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    335
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Couldn't you isolate the hero behind boundaries and/or pathing/sight blockers?
     
  4. graystuff111

    graystuff111

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    715
    Resources:
    23
    Icons:
    20
    Skins:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    23
    Does it really matter -ALPHA-, My solution works without a bunch of terraining garbage.
     
  5. -ALPHA-

    -ALPHA-

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    335
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Never hurts to try different ways!
     
  6. Istvan Kiraly

    Istvan Kiraly

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Giving the hero a model that does not work? I can't believe I didn't think of that myself. :eekani:

    Anyways, thanks and rep to both of you for the help.
     
  7. Teelo

    Teelo

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Giving it a model that doesn't work can give you errors. I think theres a blank model file, but can't rememer what it is. Thought it was none.mdl, but just checked that myself.
     
  8. Istvan Kiraly

    Istvan Kiraly

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    If you do remember, please PM me. Thank you for informing me about this.
     
  9. Reaper2008

    Reaper2008

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,117
    Resources:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    The model is Zone Indicator, last unit model. Should look like a rectangle with black and purple squares.
     
  10. ALiEN95

    ALiEN95

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,148
    Resources:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    go on his model file and click shift+enter and type .mdl
    or put his model file to crystal and set all colors to 0
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2009
  11. squezza

    squezza

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    you can allways hide the hero with a trigger

    actions: unit - hide hidden hero
     
  12. jadegolem

    jadegolem

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    293
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Easier Way

    Actions
    Animation - Set Vertex Coloring (Y,a,d,a) and transparency to 100%
     
  13. Istvan Kiraly

    Istvan Kiraly

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Yes, but that causes the hero to be unable to interact with the map, which is not something I want.



    Thanks for the replies everyone. Could a moderator please change the tag to solved?