• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!

Salutations

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
Let's see... what to say?

First off, long time lurker on and off, only just joined. Love the resources available here; they've been of great help.

I've had many ideas over my Warcraft 3 career. Most sucked royally, I'm not afraid to admit, but my most recent one actually seems like it would be something big. Thus, I'm going to need help, so I made this account.

CAUTION - TANGENT AHEAD

I started playing Warcraft (not just the 3rd one) a LONG time ago. My first experience was playing the Warcraft 2 demo, and I loved it. I wasn't very good, but I still loved it. I got the full version (Battlechest, contained both Warcraft 1 and 2), and played it often. It's no surprise then that I got Warcraft 3 soon after it came out. I was much better at Warcraft by this time, but I still wasn't very good. However, I played Warcraft 3 religiously after I discovered the joys of playing online. I soon became quite good, not pro level, but that level of play that's just below pro level, not skilled enough to compete with them, but too skilled to be classified below that. Eventually I grew bored, found other games. A friend made me buy Starcraft, and Blizzard had me once more. However, this friend wasn't fond of ladder. Instead he played UMS maps. I had played a couple player-made maps for Warcraft 3 before this, but not with any sort of desire to play them, more out of experimentation. My first DotA map I played was version 6.33, I think, I can't be sure, but it was only one or two games. Only experimentation. However, my friend had shown me the fun in non-melee maps. I revisited DotA and grew to love it. Of course, this is where my desire to create maps is rooted. The actual idea for my most recent map has some part of it inspired from DotA,