• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Replacement of dying units

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 4
Hello all. As a noob, i have some trigger question regarding replacement of units. Replacement of units is used commonly in warcraft III campaigns.

For example, a footman guarding at position X was dead, Barrack A will automatically train back footman and he went back to the guarding position X. Position X is a fixed guarding spot such that if the guarding enemy were to chase and was dead half way, the newly trained unit will be backed guarding at Position X. What if i have a lot of units guarding while the barrack is trying to handle all of the unit's replacement that had been dead. Besides doing a hash table, any other trigger that can make this happen? Any help provided will be greatly appreciated.

Here's a draft on what i wanted.

Last edited:
Level 33
For example, a footman guarding at position X was dead
By "guarding", you mean it just stands passively at a static spot and wait for enemy ?
Or patrolling ?

So basically, how do we know that a Footman is on "guarding" mode ?
Right after it is spawned/trained ?

What if the Footman dies right after it is trained ?
Will it be re-train and move to that same location ?

Also, is there any gold/lumber/food requirements for this Footman to be trained ??
If it does, it stops automatically, right ?
And when to resume it back ?

A check of loop per 1 second interval for Players' Gold/Lumber/Food ?

You know you should think this thorough.

Level 13
Testing

Test if this work
  • Events
  • Unit - A unit Dies
  • Conditions
  • (Unit-type of (Dying unit)) Equal to Footman
  • Actions