• Listen to a special audio message from Bill Roper to the Hive Workshop community (Bill is a former Vice President of Blizzard Entertainment, Producer, Designer, Musician, Voice Actor) 🔗Click here to hear his message!
  • Read Evilhog's interview with Gregory Alper, the original composer of the music for WarCraft: Orcs & Humans 🔗Click here to read the full interview.

Quest Triggers

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 4
Joined
Oct 1, 2004
Messages
98
Alright... i think i can make do with the making and discovering of the quests in my current project WoW Extreme. But since this is a WoW like game i need to make a trigger that will make the special effects (Exclamation point and Question mark) appear and disapear for only that player. At the moment i dont believe it's possible but there's got to be a way to do it right? Also i may have some trouble with the discovering of the quests and stuff but as i said earlier i may be able to do it.

That was a little confusing...
 
Level 6
Joined
Sep 17, 2005
Messages
276
i dont think that its possible to show created effects only for a specific player... wouldnt it be much easier and less lagg to show the effect to everyone, but only if the one player talks to the unit, the trigger fires.

and maybe if another player wants to talk it only say kinda: "why should i talk to you?" :wink:

dont waste much time to make it look 150% perfect. The players wont find that other method not negative. Decide what is usefull and doable and the rest WAS only an idea. :wink:
 

Rui

Rui

Level 41
Joined
Jan 7, 2005
Messages
7,550
I don't think it's possible creating a special effect only for one unit. And I agree with Sunny; people won't find that negative. Just create a variable of type Player (name it VariablePlayer for example), and when someone receives the quest;

"Hi mon! Can you help me? The bandits did this and that and blablabla"

Before all this, set VariablePlayer to the Owner of Entering Unit. I never tryed, but I think the trigger still runs if you turn off the trigger as soon as it fires. This is supposed to prevent the trigger from getting confused if another player enters the area while the trigger is still running.

-Rui
 
Level 4
Joined
Oct 1, 2004
Messages
98
Also, If you guys know what trigger makes it so it counts how many kill of one type a layer has (I.E. for all of you WoW players, when a guys asks you to, for example, go kill 10 Kobold Vermin) how do i make it do that so it counts it? Well, now that i think about it i guess i could use a multiboard that is hidden but i want peoples preference. In addition, i dont know how to make a random drop only when a player is on a qeust (lets say player one is on quest Get My Necklace Back and i want it to be a random drop [the necklace] only when the player is on the quest how do i do this) I have a few more questions (i want to get it all out in one post) more question, how do i extend the capasity of a hero's normal inventory because his normal inventory isnt enough for equiping weapons and armor let alone items, what would u guys suggest i do. Also how do i make it so that when a player picks up for example chest armor he can only equip one type of chest armor (it makes it more realistic). Also how do i extend the maximum level of a hero from 10 to 60? thanks for all the help guys.
 
Level 6
Joined
Sep 17, 2005
Messages
276
Code:
1) quest

EVENT   a unit comes within range of 200 of ...
COND    owner of entering unit is player....
ACTIONS create a ... quest for owner of entering unit

2) count died units 

-NOTE: if this triggers dont work ty using triggering unit instead of entering unit-

TRIGGER 1:
<<variable CountDeadVermins: integer>>
EVENT   a unit dies
COND    unit-type of dying unit eqal to vermin
ACTION  set CountDeadVermins = CountDeadVermins + 1

TRIGGER 2:
EVENT   a unit comes within range of (quest giving unit)
COND    owner of entering unit has quest discoverd (you have to search the exact i dont have WE at mom)
ACTION  if CountDeadVermins greater than xxx
        then
            quest-quest done....
        else
            game-display to owner of entering unit the text "quest not completed"

3) random drop

<<first make a rect (R) where you want the item randomly dropped (i will call it here ItemRect)>>
EVENT   (search an event where quest when player got a quest)
COND    
ACTION  create 1 necklace at (random point in ItemRect)

4) max inventory
well you have to search the spell section of this site. there IS a spell where u can scroll inventory..

5) only 1 item

EVENT   a unit aquires an item (generic event)
COND    item-type of item being manipulated equal to ARMOR1
ACTION  if <<boolean comparison>> triggering unit has an item of type ARMOR1 eqal to true
        then hero-drop item beeing manipulated...
        else 

6) max hero level

go to advanced-menu on top and goto gameplay constants section. there u should find the maximum hero level.

well im sorry if not everything is 100% clear, but i have no WE now. so please be patient and post again if you need more help or an explanation... :wink:
 
Level 6
Joined
Sep 17, 2005
Messages
276
always glad to help :D . and its ok if you save me small, small area in your credits :wink: .

if you have more questions, feel free to post them here...
 
Level 4
Joined
Oct 1, 2004
Messages
98
Hmm... i dont know.... Sunny_D for the Quest code instead of creating a quest (because the game would just keep making the same quest over and over again) Would it work if I had the unit discover the quest. If so how exactly would i do this?
 
Level 6
Joined
Sep 17, 2005
Messages
276
Secret Assasin54321 said:
(because the game would just keep making the same quest over and over again)

well, i didnt say you have to copy the trigger i offered 1-to-1 - i just gave you the basics, because i actually havent WE to give you exact fuction :? , so if it creates something again and again, create for example a boolean AlreadyDoneQuest1 and use some if-then-else to fire the trigger only once...
or you put at the end of trigger a trigger-turn off this trigger and the trigger runs only once too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top