1. Find your way through the deepest dungeon in the 18th Mini Mapping Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. A brave new world lies beyond the seven seas. Join the 34th Modeling Contest today!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hive 3 Remoosed BETA - NOW LIVE. Go check it out at BETA Hive Workshop! Post your feedback in this new forum BETA Feedback.
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

quest mark

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by vlekje5, Aug 23, 2015.

  1. vlekje5

    vlekje5

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hello guys, so basicly ive been wondering how i add a (!) mark above a unit.
    need this for showing quest units.
    anyone know how to do this?
     
  2. Radicool

    Radicool

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,148
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    4
    Resources:
    4
    Make a trigger which creates a special effect.

    • Quest Mark
      • Events
        • Map initialization
      • Conditions
      • Actions
        • Special Effect - Create a special effect attached to the overhead of Peasant 0000 <gen> using Abilities\Spells\Other\TalkToMe\TalkToMe.mdl
        • Set QuestMarkSPX = (Last created special effect)


    And this trigger removes the quest mark:

    • Finish Quest
      • Events
        • Unit - A unit comes within 256.00 of Peasant 0000 <gen>
      • Conditions
      • Actions
        • Special Effect - Destroy QuestMarkSPX


    The QuestMarkSPX is a Special Effect type variable.
     
  3. vlekje5

    vlekje5

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thank you very much, i was looking in the wrong place haha,Didn't think it was done via triggers.
    thank you :p

    anyway, if i use a variable will i be able to do it for multiple units at a time?
    i want all questwielders to have one on them so that the player can see it, should i make a seperate variable for each and every one of them then?
     
  4. Radicool

    Radicool

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,148
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    4
    Resources:
    4
    Use a variable array instead.

    • Untitled Trigger 001
      • Events
        • Map initialization
      • Conditions
      • Actions
        • Special Effect - Create a special effect attached to the overhead of Peasant 0000 <gen> using Abilities\Spells\Other\TalkToMe\TalkToMe.mdl
        • Set QuetMarkSPX[1] = (Last created special effect)
        • Special Effect - Create a special effect attached to the overhead of Footman 0001 <gen> using Abilities\Spells\Other\TalkToMe\TalkToMe.mdl
        • Set QuetMarkSPX[2] = (Last created special effect)
        • Special Effect - Create a special effect attached to the overhead of Knight 0002 <gen> using Abilities\Spells\Other\TalkToMe\TalkToMe.mdl
        • Set QuetMarkSPX[3] = (Last created special effect)
     
  5. RobertMKD

    RobertMKD

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    787
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    It's called 'Exclamation Mark', you can find it under 'Extra'.