• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!

noob needs some help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
I am a noob in map making, can I ask something?
1. how to make a turn-based warcraft 3 map?
2. how to make a spell deals stat based damage? (ex : 10x agility, etc.)

can you show me the right triggers/scripts?
thanks for your help

Level 10
1. This would be an extensive project that I really wouldn't reccomend for someone who is new to the editor, programming, or game design in general.

Regardless however, you would likely need to do the following:

- pause or switch the team of non-active units
- make non-active units invulnerable and turn off their ms
- use either dialog boxes or abilities to create a player selection
- do some serious freaking cinematic work to make it look good

2. It really depends on the spell, but lets say you want to make the death knight's death coil spell deal 150% of his strength in damage. First set the damage dealt by the death coil to 0 (obviously) and then use this trigger:

• Death Coil
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Starts the effect of an ability
    • Conditions
      • (Ability being cast) Equal to Death Coil
    • Actions
      • Unit - Cause (Triggering unit) to damage (Target unit of ability being cast), dealing (1.50 x (Real((Strength of (Triggering unit) (Include bonuses))))) damage of attack type Spells and damage type Normal

Level 2
thanks for the informations.
so, I can make a warcraft 3 turn-based map, but it needs a REALLY HARD work, isn't it?

thanks for the trigger! I've waste some of my time to seek out THAT trigger. Again, thanks a lot!

Level 19
Yes, you are able to make a warcraft 3 turn-based combat system. I've done it a few times, different ones.