1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Need modeling help, related to porting

Discussion in 'Modeling & Animation' started by dtnmang, Feb 3, 2017.

  1. dtnmang

    dtnmang

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    465
    Resources:
    7
    Models:
    3
    Tutorials:
    4
    Resources:
    7
    I'm looking for someone who has experience in porting models.
    Do you remember the fix for when after a (ported) model has been given bones, animation etc., it can be loaded into the game without crashing, however only part of its mesh is shown, and when the unit which uses that model appears on the map, it causes several flickering artifacts on the screen. I tried to remove animations, bones, and textures, and narrowed it down to a 3d mesh issue.
     
  2. Infrisios

    Infrisios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Resources:
    7
    Models:
    7
    Resources:
    7
    I believe that's when the mesh, or parts of it, isn't properly applied to the nodes. They kinda appear to become unassigned and just fly all over the place doing weird things, like attaching themselves to other nodes (even of completely other units). I mostly created FX, so I usually had very minimal meshes and fixing it was easy (mostly I just slapped a bone in between and it did the trick), but that might not be as easy if you got a more complex model. Guess you can check if all geosets are assigned to bones for starters, if that doesn't help you might want to double-check if the vertex groups are assigned properly.
     
  3. dtnmang

    dtnmang

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    465
    Resources:
    7
    Models:
    3
    Tutorials:
    4
    Resources:
    7
    Thanks for replying. Alas, all vertex groups have been assigned on the model though (I use MatrixEater so it gives notification whenever there are unassigned vertices).
     
  4. Infrisios

    Infrisios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Resources:
    7
    Models:
    7
    Resources:
    7
    Would you mind passing me the .mdl? I could take a closer look at it.
     
  5. dtnmang

    dtnmang

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    465
    Resources:
    7
    Models:
    3
    Tutorials:
    4
    Resources:
    7
    I'm going to need your discretion about this, I'll send you a PM later.
     
  6. Infrisios

    Infrisios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    106
    Resources:
    7
    Models:
    7
    Resources:
    7
    Of course, I won't give it to anyone else.