1. Head to the 33rd Modeling Contest Poll and drink to your heart's desire.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Choose your means of doom in the 17th Mini Mapping Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. A slave to two rhythms, the 22nd Terraining Contest is here.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The heavens smile on the old faithful. The 16th Techtree Contest has begun.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The die is cast - the 6th Melee Mapping Contest results have been announced. Onward to the Hive Cup!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The glory of the 20th Icon Contest is yours for the taking!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Need immediate help!!!

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by SpasMaster, Jan 30, 2011.

  1. SpasMaster

    SpasMaster

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,903
    Resources:
    4
    Icons:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    4
    Hey guys!

    Today I decided to work a bit over my map, add a new system. Y'know? The usual.

    Everything was going ok, until after 1 hour work, I try to save the map and it says: Error: Unable to save map. And I was like wtf? So I copied the triggers I made, and repeated the process. Made everything as I wanted it to be and tried to save the map. Error: Unable to save map. Again?! I was like: "It could be the triggers". So I didn't save the map. Opened it in the world editor for the third time and placed a peasent randomly. Error: Unable to save map. "WTF". I thought that I should restart the computer. It could be it. Nothing. Same shit again. I checked my free space. It's a LOT.

    So what could cause the error?
    Everything was ok yesterday...
    1.)I restarted the PC.
    2.)It's not the triggers.
    3.)It's not the free space.

    Help!!!
     
  2. TheWarchief

    TheWarchief

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Maybe you could try to save the map at a different location?
     
  3. SpasMaster

    SpasMaster

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,903
    Resources:
    4
    Icons:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    4
    How do I change the location where it saves? :S
     
  4. Ironside

    Ironside

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,722
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    3
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    4
    File > Save As, there you choose the path to where you'll save it.
     
  5. SpasMaster

    SpasMaster

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,903
    Resources:
    4
    Icons:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    4
    Ok, good news! It worked. I saved the map in another directory. But still... the problem persists. What's wrong with my folder on the desktop?

    Note: It says "unable to save map" where the text on the progress bar is: Generating map Archive.
     
  6. Ironside

    Ironside

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,722
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    3
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    4
    Does World editor have Admin/Root permissions (Read, Write) ?
     
  7. SpasMaster

    SpasMaster

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,903
    Resources:
    4
    Icons:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    4
    Hmmm.. Not sure I know what you are talking about, but I think the problem was the map file itself, because I could edit evry other map I had there with no problem.
     
  8. Ironside

    Ironside

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,722
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    3
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    4
    In that case, that didn't have anything to do with my answer above, is this solved now?
     
  9. SpasMaster

    SpasMaster

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,903
    Resources:
    4
    Icons:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    4
    The condition atm:
    1.)The map still cannot be saved on that exact same folder where it has been saved for months.
    2.)The map in that folder can be saved elsewhere though.
    3.)The strange is that all other maps in that same folder can be saved there.
     
  10. Ironside

    Ironside

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,722
    Resources:
    4
    Maps:
    3
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    4
    The map is probably corrupt in some sort.
     
  11. Vunjo

    Vunjo

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    977
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    If it's corrupted, I think that it can't go back to normal. So, the problem was, you just had to save map somewhere else?