• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Need Help with Diminishing Return (CC) System!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 6
Hello everyone, i want to balance the CC in my game to be the same like in WoW, means: If same ability is used 3 times in a row, and it has 10 sec duration, the system gonna turn it to 10+5+2.5 sec instead 10+10+10

Example: A rogue sapping u 3 times, each time the duration drops with 50%

Can someone please help me to make this system or at least tell me how to make it? I am not very good at making Triggers ^^

-Thanks!

Uncle

Warcraft Moderator
Level 63
Is the CC system designed around specific ability usage? Such as your Sap example, meaning Sap could have 1/4 of it's base duration but some other CC ability that you haven't used yet would work at 100% effectiveness?

OR does a unit have a "CC Resistance" stat that determines how long CC effects last on it. This stat changes as a unit gets hit by CC, and eventually resets back to normal.

The 2nd option is a lot easier to make since it's more general. A unit casts CC on a target, the targets CC Resistance gets divided by 2, the duration of the CC ability gets reduced based on this CC Resistance.

Here's an example of the 2nd option using a Unit Indexer. I don't have the Editor open so I'm just writing the names of things from memory:
  • Events:
  • A unit starts the effect of an ability
  • Conditions:
  • Ability being cast equal to Slow
  • Actions:
  • Custom script: local integer i = GetUnitUserData(GetSpellTargetUnit())
  • Set CV = Custom value of target unit of ability being cast
  • Set CC_Resistance[CV] = CC_Resistance[CV] / 2.0