• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Need Help With Choosing Race!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
So it should be simple, but I'm new to maps, and I can't seem to figure it out. I want it to be so that in the beginning you can click on the tavern and see icons that give you a selection of different races.

This won't be for races to do a regular melee game. When you select the race you would like to be, then 12 units of that race will appear on the map somewhere (where isn't important- some given region or something). There isn't base building or anything in this game.

So, something similar to choosing your starting guy in Island Defense, except 1 guy doesn't come out, but 12 (but not all the same unit- but a race group you play the rest of the game with).

Can anybody help?

Level 39
The tavern should sell a unit corresponding to each race. When a player purchases such a unit, catch this with a trigger and check the unit-type to figure out which race was bought. From here you need to create the correct units, and there are two simple ways I see to do it:
  • Store all of the information about what units to create for a race in a series of parallel integer and unit-type arrays (e.g. for race 6 (say 6 is Trolls) make NumUnits6[1] of TypeUnits6[1], NumUnits6[2] of TypeUnits6[2], NumUnits6[3] of TypeUnits6[3], etc. This could also be done in 1 array for all races by making it function like a pseudo-2D array (since wc3 does not truly have multidimensional arrays you have to fake it).