• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Kings' Ancient Oath

Reactions: Ićpomp
263067-4f36865b87e20e73331d83175b525a42.png

King's Ancient Oath
by Kaoren

Map description

"Now hear my country lying maimed
And counting down the countless hours
Its land has longed to be reclaimed
With what has been and shall be ours."

Players : 1v1
Playable size : 84x88

Map features

- 6 Gold Mines (15k in main, 12.5k in expos)
- 2 Mercenary camps (Dungeon)
- 2 Goblin Merchants
- 2 Mana Fountains
- 1 Tavern
- 18 Creep Camps (6 - 8 - 4) with significant Undead proportion

Comments

So this is my first time making a Melee map (or rather being satisfied with the map I end up with). I didn't go too ambitious with the theme or the features, though the layout is kinda weird with the well-covered expos on the top-left and bottom-right corners (I was trying to give a Terenas' Stand vibe at first, with important chokepoints and forced detours, but the result put this in quite another dimension). I mostly watch the game and hardly play it, so I'm not entirely sure how interesting it will be from a gameplay point of view ; if it ends up being unplayable because of too easy expanding, I can still cut an additional way in place of the orange camps standing close to the mines.

Other things I'm not entirely sure of include :
- High proportion of undead creeps, which can be troublesome for Undead cause of coil resistance and non-revivability, cause I wanted to keep a "long lost kingdom" vibe overall (I tried to avoid making the most important mobs undead, apart from the fountains' ones). Also, most camps never sleep because of that.